Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I tried this recipe because for years I've been making Mrs. Sigg's Peanut Butter Cookies and LOVE them. This Snickerdoodle recipe is so stinking good! Tips for beginning bakers: Use parchment paper. If your cookie sheets are dark, reduce baking time. LOVE LOVE LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Great recipe! Chewy on the inside and crispy on the outer edges. I read the reviews and found these to be most helpful: 1) Instead of shortening, substitute 1/2 Cup Butter 2) Allow butter to soften to room temperature 3) Use 3TBL Sugar and 1 TBL Cinnamon and mix in a baggie - shake dough in it 4) Wet your fingertips to form the balls - this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and they are delicious. I discovered that my 3 cookie sheets made a difference as to whether they were flat or fluffy. Some sheets came out flat - go figure?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
As a baker, I love to try new recipes from allrecipes especially with high rating. After following the recipe exactly, I found that the flavors definitely had potential, but there was too much cream of tartar that you can taste and the cookie itself was far too crunchy. I like my cookies soft and unfortunately this recipe as is didn't deliver. My mom, however, will love this recipe since she prefers a biscotti-like crunch. But as for me, I wont be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Just made these and they turned out great. I used a 1/2 cup butter flavored crisco and 1 teaspoon water in place of the shortening. I am definitely saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
The best I have ever eaten!!! The only changes I made was I use all butter and 3 tsp of vanilla, the rest was as written. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Gipson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
These cookies are divine! I followed the recipe exactly and leveled off my tablespoon for uniform size and cooking. At 8 minutes and 20 seconds they are a tiny bit crispy on the edges and chewy and tender inside. Im fighting off the husband and 4yo so I'll have some left for family care packages. Honestly, these are too good to make with anyone around lol Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
The snickerdoodle recipe to end all snickerdoodle recipes. Seriously, this is perfect. My main complaint about most snickerdoodles is they lack the "tang" they're supposed to have (otherwise, it's not a "snickerdoodle" to me). If you don't like the tang, you might want to drop the cream of tartar by a quarter to a half. But that's not a snickerdoodle to me. Perfectly soft insides, crispy outside, light and airy, with a tangy aftertaste. I bake cookies once a year--for Christmas--and this is the only cookie I bake. I can't get cookies like this anywhere. As for timing, ovens are going to vary. For me, at 400, 11 minutes works exactly right. Experiment with a few batches to see where it's how you like them with your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Pawinski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
So beautiful and so easy to make! Thank you to everyone who suggested 8 minutes as the perfect baking time. That turned out picture-perfect cookies for me. My husband doesn't like snickerdoodles, but he loved these! If people enjoy eating something they wouldn't normally touch, that's a great recipe! This is going in my keeper file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Made these cookies tonight and they were amazing! Snickerdoodles we're always my favourite cookie as a child and I'm so glad I was able to find a recipe that was so similar and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,800) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States