Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Well, I thought I messed up. I baked the pumpkin for an hour, it was tender when I poked it. As I scraped the flesh away from its skin, it was gritty and dry, not mushy or smooth as I thought it would be. I had already mixed the eggs, sugar etc. so I had to give it a try. It poured into the pie crust (two regular sized ones) like water! I was so upset because I was to take it to Thanksgiving dinner the next morning!! It baked up beautifully and not a crumb was left the next day! I'm making another (one deep dish this time) and this time the pumpkin scraped off smooth like it is out of a can, NEVER fear, it will work out no matter the texture of the pumpkin! I used the Best Ever Pie Crust recipe from this site.....it's terrific!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
465 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I have baked 4 of these. The first time I followed the recipe to the letter. Great pie, but just a little more spice is needed for my family's personal taste. The second time I baked it, I increased the pumpkin pie spice to 1 Tablespoon and everyone thought it was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I made this recipe with my jack-o-lantern the day after Halloween. It tasted great even with regular pumpkin (note: one good sized jack-o-lantern makes about 4 pies). My husband loved it! One suggestion: for a really smooth, creamy pie blend the filling in the blender on puree for a few seconds AFTER you've mixed the ingredients. It really smoothed it out. This one is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I would give 4.5 stars but don't have the option. Reason being is that I use my own combination of fresh ground spices instead of store bought pumpkin pie spice. The recipe itself is great otherwise. Note: I only use 3/4 can of the evap milk or my filling seemed a bit loose. I personally think making fresh puree makes a difference so I prepare more pumpkin puree (frozen in 2C containers) for another time. I'm also not into making crust so I use the Ms Smith pre-made pie shells or Pills ready crust, which are pretty darn good for store bought and less fuss. Oh, I forgot...I also blind bake the pie crust and cool b4 filling to avoid soggy crust (375 for 10 minutes) If your pie filling seems loose at the end of baking time, turn the oven off and just leave it until it's more "set". Good stuff, thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
My husband says this is the best pumpkin pie I have ever made. I also prebaked the pie crust at 425 degrees for about 10 minutes. Than I filled and followed the receipe. It made the crust nice and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This is the best pumpkin pie that I have ever had. Even my hard to impress father-in-law loved it. I usually bake several pumpkins at once and freeze the puree in 2c (enough for one pie) batches. The recipe is almost too much for one pie, I keep those tiny pre-made pie shells on hand to make "extra" pies if the pan is too full. Fresh whipped cream is wonderful on this pie - adding a touch of Myers rum to the cream is even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This will be the 5th Thanksgiving that I have made this pie. Let me just say that it is FANTASTIC. Fresh pumpkin really makes this pie. I agree with other reviewers about adding extra spices, but it is great as-is also. I always use the "BAKERS SECRET PIE CRUST" recipe from this site. It comes out perfect everytime. Another variation is to use the struesel topping from the "Brown Family's Favorite Pumpkin Pie" recipe also on this site. The streusel is great with walnuts or my family's favorite- pecans. YUM! You won't be dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEACHEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Funniest thing I've seen in a while. I served a few different pie options and the ones that chose pumpkin literally stopped the conversation to go on and on, and ON about how this was the BEST pumpkin pie EVER. A few things: I cooked the pumpkin longer than it said (maybe mine was bigger?). The pie going into the oven was SCARY with how runny it was. I thought for sure it wasn't going to turn out (have no fear-it does set). The filling was enough for two pies. I mixed up my own pumpkin pie spice since I already own those spices. Here is the ratio(have to make about 3 times this for this recipe and measure out what you need): 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg 1/8 teaspoon ground allspice Excellent recipe. I will be using only this one. Amazing what a difference fresh pumpkin makes.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Fantastic! This was the first fresh pumpkin pie I have ever made and it turned out fabulous. I used one med sugar pumpkin, but after cleaning the pumpkin I sliced it into pieces and put it in a microwavable glass container with lid, and microwaved it for 10 min. The skin peel right off. Followed everything else to a tee! Very good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethalto, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
My kids and I have never had more fun baking. This pie not only was easy to make, it was the best darned Pumpkin Pie we have ever had. We rushed out and bought 5 more pumpkins just so we could freeze the cooked pumpkin so we can make this pie year round!!!! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States