Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This pie was delicious. Much more flavor than the canned pumpkin. I steamed my pumpkin instead of baking it. The teenage boy said it was the best pie ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Illinois, USA
Living In: Odell, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
There is no doubt this is a delicious pie (though I did have to add a bit more cinnamon and nutmeg). I made several of these for a fall family get-together and they were a big hit, but to be totally honest, I, my family and friends found the taste was comparable to my usual recipe using Libby's 100% canned pumpkin. So,for me, I will stick with making my pies with canned 100% pumpkin and save myself a lot of unnecessary time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This really is a good recipe. I figured a few things out after making this that might help others. 1. Puree the pumpkin in a food processor. If you don't the pie will have a rough texture. 2. Only add 1 c. of evaporated milk. The pie will set better and you will not have too much filling. 3. If you use all brown sugar the pie will be very brown in color. My family prefers it with half brown and half white sugar. 4. Do not overbake!! Check it 10 minutes before it says in the recipe. Mine was done after 40 mins. total bake time. If you overbake the pie, it will taste grainy instead of creamy. Hope these suggestions help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was a yummy recipe, I just added cinnamon and nutmeg, and topped with whip cream and strawberries :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I made this pie as written except I used fat free evaporated milk. I have made 2 in the last week and the reviews were great. This is by far the best pumpkin pie recipe that I have ever tried. The beautiful sugar pumpkins that I used were just the right size to make 2 pies and they were so creamy inside that I didn't need to puree it. I'm going back today to get more pumpkins to 'can' so we can eat pumpkin pie all year long. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Loved this recipe! I cooked my pumpkin in the microwave until soft,then scraped the flesh out. It worked great! I also used 1 tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice. Turned out great! Yummmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Seriously ?!?! I was giving myself major props on the back ! I felt like this was a pie from the best pie shop around ! I wouldn't change anything about this recipe, EXCEPT, I baked my pie pumpkins for 90 minutes at 350. I had a different recipe before where it suggested baking the pumpkins for 45 min at 350, and it just wasn't long enough ( and that could be my oven, but 90 minutes worked out great, & I didn't have to blend it. I was able to scrape everything out with a spoon and hand mash/puree it before adding everything else. I am so happy with this pie, I am making it again for Thanksgiving & Christmas. I cheated a little & used a Marie Callender's frozen pie crust. Other than that, yum yum yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Very good for a homemade pie. Call me crazy, but I'd rather have Sara Lee pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is the best pumpkin pie I've ever tasted. Fortunately I read other reviews, and did not stress when the filling was incredibly runny before putting the pie in the oven. It baked to perfection. - Normally I need to amend new recipes that I try, but this one I followed to the letter and it was truly perfect. Thanks for sharing this fab recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueplate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
My hubby liked this pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States