Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Have made this pie countless times! I do use 1 tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice and use heavy whipping cream (the real stuff, not the with carrageenan) instead of evaporated milk as it makes it even better! I always have a little extra pie filling and pour it into a small glass cooking dish and enjoy it once it cools! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmmmmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenmore, New York, USA
Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I think this is the best recipe for Pumpkin Pie I have ever made. It is fantastic. But next time I will add a bit more Nutmeg Spice on top of the Pp-spice. But I would really recommend this one for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvtworyde2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Reyno, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Good recipe . A "pie gourmet" neighbor rated it a 8.5/10 ! I made a few amendments. Substituted condensed milk for evaporated, omitted the sugar. (Condensed milk is already sweetened.) I roasted and added two turnips to the pumpkin, added more flavor so spices didn't dominate. I don't know exactly what pumpkin spice is so added, 1 tsp of each cinnamon , nutmeg and allspice. Pre-baked 'Mrs. Smith's frozen pie crust for 10 min at 450. Followed all other directions as written. YUM,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
awesome this is definitely a keeper! Everyone raved on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Made this for the first time for Thanksgiving a few days ago. Made on Wednesday, then refrigerated overnight. I did use a pie pumpkin (a 4 lb pumpkin yields a bit more than 2 cups of puree). Baked it per the instructions, then put in my food processor to puree. I did that ahead of time on the Tues before Thanksgiving. I used refrigerated pie crusts, and used a crust shield to prevent the over-browning of the crust. Like others, I increased the pie spice to 1 T (3 tsp). I baked it in a 10 inch pie plate: it was filled to the brim with no custard left over. Took a bit longer to cook but set up perfectly! It was perfect...seriously tasty, excellent texture. I will always use fresh pumpkin and this recipe in the future. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Absolutely delicious, I enjoyed it and pumpkin pie is not my favorite but I went for seconds. As others stated it is running prior to baking but it forms well after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I , like SO MANY others had never made a "real" pumpkin pie & just stumbled on this recipe when trying to find out how to make it. I personally roasted my pie pumpkins in the oven (a bit too long I think too) for about an hr @ 325 after cutting them in 1/2 & cleaning the "guts" as my boys so eloquently put it. This made extra work when turning into a purée as I had to add water & really work at it BUT once I got it to the consistency of baby food or smooth applesauce & it was PERFECT!!! Best pies I ever made (minus I burned the crust & using parchment paper to try to prevent further burning it stuck to the top so they aren't as pretty as I wld like) but sure is tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Robare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe...There is nothing better than fresh sugar pumpkin pie...Made one just after harvesting the pumpkins from the garden and making 2 of them for the holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I haven't used any other recipe since I've found this one! This year I did make a few changes though and it was even better, not that I thought it was possible, but my family also likes a little more spice. Here's what I did: First of all, my blender wasn't doing what it was supposed to do, so I added all the ingredients at the start with 1/4 -1/2 tsp ground cloves added in and only 3/4 can evaporated milk ...I still had left over filling...Anyway, I blended the ingredients on the lowest speed, gradually increasing till the fastest, blending until I began to see a few bubbles, then poured it into a frozen deep dish pie crust. Saved alot of time and dishes!! A must for anyone who hates the clean up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made this pie last year and it was amazing! My husband loved it! I'm making it again for the holidays this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States