Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This was the best pumpkin pie ever! I didn't use a sugar pumpkin, just a regular pumpkin pureed in the blender, and it came out great. I had no pumpkin pie spice on hand so I use 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon each of ginger, nutmeg, and allspice. I wasn't able to fit the whole filling into one storebought frozen pie shell, so I ended up making two pies with it. My little sister, who had never liked or eaten pumpkin pie, ate a whole slice and liked it. My brother, husband, and I thought that it was the best pumpkin pie ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I made this recipe with my jack-o-lantern the day after Halloween. It tasted great even with regular pumpkin (note: one good sized jack-o-lantern makes about 4 pies). My husband loved it! One suggestion: for a really smooth, creamy pie blend the filling in the blender on puree for a few seconds AFTER you've mixed the ingredients. It really smoothed it out. This one is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
Very tasty. Lots of work using fresh pumpkin though. I'd probably using canned next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
My husband has made this recipe twice in the last week. Absolutely AWESOME! The filling literally melts in your mouth. There is NO comparison with canned pumpkin pie filling - this is the freshest, most wonderful flavor ever. I highly recommend it! WELL worth the extra effort to use a fresh pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORTHWESTMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Once I made this pie, I was addicted to making homemade pumpkin pie. I also made it substituting hubbard squash and it was excellent. I love this recipe and now make a pumpkin pie every weekend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
This was a wonderful pie. It was very easy to make. My husband even ate it and he doesn't like pumpkin pie. I definitely will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
I have never made a pumpkin pie before...so when I tried this one from scratch I was feeling brave.....well even my apple pie lovers are already asking me to start making more pumpkin pies. =) Thank you for such an easy & wonderful recipe!...I wouldn't dream of "ruining" this pie by using canned pumpkin ;)... Farmers Markets..here I come!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
I lost this recipe and I'm so glad I found it again. I made this last year and got rave reviews all around. It turned out so moist and tender--fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Loved doing this in one bowl, my kind of recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I agree this stuff is super yummy - Mrs. Sigg all your recipes are great! Please submit more :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States