Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
My hubby liked this pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I used 15oz of fresh roasted pumpkin. . . thought I was going to have to use the recipe for canned and can is 15oz. Sprinkled pumpkin with cloves while it roasted. The result was really good! Yes, pumpkin pie is naturally a little bland and this recipe could use a little more spice. However, the freshness of the pumpkin did come through and roasting the pumpkin was not that taxing. Think that next time I will season the pumpkin generously with all of the requested spices plus the cloves and then also use the called for spices in the recipe. This recipe made enough for 1.5 pies so 2 recipes makes exactly 3 pies. . . from bought/frozen crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This is so easy, and so delicious. I made this for a Halloween party last year, and people ate it up. Even people who claimed they didn't like pumpkin pies loved it. I skipped the pumpkin pie spice because I didn't have any but it was great anyway. I've been invited to the same party again this year because people were requesting "the awesome pumpkin pie from last year."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I have had this recipe for a while and have been dying to make it. So I finally bought two sugar pumpkins, made my own puree, and used two cups of it in this recipe. I used Chef John's Pie crust also on this site. This pi was delicious! I have to agree with other reviewers and will probably add a little more pumpkin pie spice next time, but other than that, this is going to be my go to pumpkin pie recipe. I'm glad I tried it before Thanksgiving rolls around. No more canned pumpkin for me. At least I'll know what to do with all those Halloween pumpkins that will be left over. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by AwesomeFrenchie
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Amazing! This pie turned out beautifully, and the whole family enjoyed it. Slightly to sweet to my taste, I'll reduce the amount of sugar next time. My pie dishes were rather shallow so the mix was enough for two pies. Served warm with freshly whipped cream is the best way to go! Thanks for the recipe, a definite must for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
For those who are wondering (like I did), how much puree you get out of a sugar pumpkin I measured it. Cut in half my pumpkin measured 5 1/2 inches across and after pureeing it I measured just over 2 cups of pumpkin (the measurement for pumpkin doesn't have to be exact). Sugar pumpkins are the small darker orange pumpkins you see in the grocery mainly in the fall. This recipe is wonderful and everyone loves it. I did try adding a bit more pumpkin pie spice as suggested by others the second time and from then on. It is runny at first but sets up beautifully. I've tried other recipes on this site and I will never use another recipe again (even after using sugar pumpkins in the recipes calling for canned). This is amazing and so easy. This year I'm going to buy more pumpkins, and freeze the puree for year round goodness. By the way, after baking two pumpkins, one just wouldn't get real soft even after putting it back in the oven, but it pureed beautifully in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Wand Sidell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This pie was tasted so great it was unbelievable. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Obsequies
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I had never made a pumpkin pie before, so this was new to me. I finally cooked and pureed my home grown pumpkins and immediately had to make a pie. The only thing I changed was not adding the full can of milk, as it just seemed like it would be far too liquid, and I'm glad I did. I made the pie for a family dinner and everyone seemed to enjoy it a lot :) Thanks for the great recipe, I'll be using this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Obsequies

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Excellent pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I have never gotten so many compliments on a dessert before- this is fabulous! I doubled the recipe and somehow ended up enough filling for three pies. I needed to add milk to the pumpkin puree in the blender to get it a nice creamy consistency to make it easier to pour out and mix (this could be how I ended up with way more filling than I needed). I substituted heated fresh milk for evaporated milk as I was out, but I don't think it made a difference. Roasting time for the fresh pumpkin varied somewhat for me- could be my oven. It took me almost twice as long to roast the pumpkin thoroughly. I also coated my pumpkin flesh in cinnamon sugar butter before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vbjess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States