Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Yum. I served this to my in-laws. Pretty sure I earned some brownie points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This came out great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Delicious and easy! Used sugar pumpkins that we got from our local CSA. Edged up with too much filling for the 9" pie shell so we made a mini pie with the leftover filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I had pumpkin puree in my freezer left over from another time I roasted and scooped a pumpkin. I defrosted it and then cooked it on the stove over low heat for about an hour. That really helped to thicken it up. Since I only had 1.5 cups of the necessary 2 cups of puree, I microwaved a couple of small sweet potatoes, peeled and mashed them, and added 1/2 cup of that to the pumpkin. That really put the pie over the top! I made my pie crust using the Crisco recipe... it never fails. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Really good. Can use sweet potatoes as a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I thought it turned out pretty good. It definitely needed more spices, we all thought it was a little bland. The texure was great though and it baked up beautifully. Like others mentioned, I too had extra filling. I put the extra filling in a ramekin and baked it along side the pie. I was able to "sample" the pie (without the crust) before Christmas dinner and no one was the wiser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Went too fast, I didn't get a piece :( I heard it was "fabulous"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Good pie - came out soft and tasty but brown on top. Definitely needs to be refrigerated overnight, though - eat it right away and it's really too liquidy and eggy. Also - really needs more spice! I ended up using 2 tablespoons of fresh-ground nutmeg, 2 tbsp cinnamon, and 1 tbsp allspice - and it was so delicious! For the crust, I recommend John's Easy Pie Crust - http://allrecipes.com/recipe/easy-homemade-pie-crust/detail.aspx - it's easy and I made four of them in 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Hubby loved it. I was surprised that it didn't fit in the pie pan. The entire can of evaporated milk was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I baked this pie for Thanksgiving this year and it came out great! I was so proud of myself since it was the first time I baked a pie from scratch! Thank you and I will definitely be using this recipe again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaysbutterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States