Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Perfect as written. I microwaved the pumpkin for 20 min instead of oven- baked. I recommend processing the pumpkin instead of mashing to eliminate any stringy pumpkin in your pie. We used our giant halloween pumpkin, not the special sugar pumpkin, and it was delicious. I processed the whole pumpkin and froze 2c each in bags, enough to make 9 pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made this pie and it was great. Was the perfect amount for the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My daughter brought home two sugar pumpkins from a field trip, so I turned them into pie. This is great - a lot of work, but the instructions all make sense and seem to be accurate. Tastes great. I might reduce the liquid in my filling next time. The middle of the pie wasn't set in 50 minutes, so I took the advice of another reviewer, turned the oven off, and left the pie sitting inside for another hour. One thing: my regular blender didn't work for pureeing the pumpkin at all, but my immersion blender was perfect. That's what I'd recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
A easy and wonderful tasting reciepe. I was so happy that this reciepe called for it to be made 24 hours in advance - that made my thanksgiving dinner go much smoother! This reciepe is a keeper ---- don't even bother looking for another one ---- there is none better!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I hate to be the first to rate this below 5 stars, but it really was just ok for me. In fact, with a familiy of 6, it took almost a week to finish. If something is irresistible, it is usually gone within 2 days. I can't think of what it was lacking, but there was just not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suerte126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by monic
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I added a bit more of the spices, and reduced evaporated milk to 8 ounce. it turn out perfect! this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monic

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I made it last night and my family members patiently waited overnight to have some today. They said it was SO worth the wait. I also brought some for a few fellow co-workers and they all said it was amazing! Thank you for this recipe :) I made 2 pies at once -just doubled the recipe and bought 2 pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Santiago

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
With the abundance of pumpkins this year it is a shame not to take advantage of this delightful vegetable/fruit? I find it much easier to place pumpkin in a large crock pot, add about 1/2 cup water and cook on high for about 2 hours. Your crock pot may vary so just check by poking with a fork for doneness. Lift out whole, cut in half, scoop out seeds, then scoop out pumpkin from skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I will never bake a pumpkin pie from a can again! I did not have evaporated milk so I substituted 1 can sweetened condensed milk for the can of evaporated milk and omitted the brown sugar and it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I wanted to try a new pumpkin pie recipe, so I decided to make this one. I won't be trying any others for a while because my husband RAVED about this pie, how delicious it is. He seldom comments on food! The pie IS mild, but if my sweetheart liked it well enough to rave about it, then that is good enough for me! ;) I like it very much as well, and it was quite easy to make. (I have made "from scratch" pumpkin pies before.) Thank you, Mrs. Sigg, for a new "keeper" for my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States