Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this recipe once before, and it is a must have for Thanksgiving, so much better than the canned pumpkin and I always used Libby's before. Thank you for a five star recipe! grdngrl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
My daughter in law did not like pumpkin pie because of the texture. Once she tried this pie she ate 3 pieces. Fantastic reciepe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I made this recipe with my two boys and we had a great time. The pie was delicious. I didn't give it 5 stars at my 6 year old's request because he thought it "took too long." If you are baking with kids, make sure they understand that they will have to wait until the next morning to enjoy the product of their labor. We also had to make a few modifications to get the pie to work well. First, the recipe makes more than can possibly fit in the usual store bought pie crust. I just baked the over flow pie filling in a small casserole dish without a crust along with the main pie. The other main modification was baking time. After 40 minutes the pie is too runny. You need to add at least another 10 minutes. Finally, covering the crust with foil in the beginning produced a deformed pie because the foil stuck to the crust and broke it when I removed it. Instead, bake the pie without covering the crust and then when it browns (20 min into baking) cover it with foil. This way the foil won't stick to the raw dough. In the end, great taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Tried it, Love it!! Best pumpkin pie I've ever had. Like it even better than my mom's recipe that I've been eating for my whole life. Shhh...don't tell my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This recipe received rave reviews from my family. I would much rather use fresh ingredients because of the plastic, etc., that is used in the canning process. The "extra" work that creates takes less than 5 minutes of manual labor & it is worth it to me. Like others I will increase the spice the next time but that is simply a matter of taste. Wonderfully easy & absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I make great pumpkin pies but this was rockin'. I think the flavour intensity comes from the pumpkins being roasted, and the delicious extra brown bits from the pan after roasting. Trust me, you will LOVE this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was okay but I really prefer my pumpkin pie sweeter than this. I added a praline topping after tasting the filling before baking. Not sure roasting the sugar pumpkins was worth the effort either. I used the second one I bought to make pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAELITH
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Great pie - just the way my mother taught me to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mooseinthekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zionsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This was a very good pie! It took a longer time to cook than I expected, but it came out with a beautiful color. Mmmmmmmm.......................
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I liked the directions for using a sugar pumpkin, but didn't like the remainder of the recipe as well as the recipe on Libby Pumpkin's can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States