Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Didn't have a sugar pumpkin and used a small regular jack'o one. Still turned out great. As others have said, made my own crust. Makes all the difference. Keeping this recipe for sure! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGural

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I have been making my own puree for a while but always used the Libby's recipe. This is a very well written recipe for those who have never used a sugar pumpkin before. The ingredients are spot on and make a flavorful pie. My only additions were to add a bit of Bourbon and vanilla extract. I left out the salt due to dietary needs - didn't miss it at all. I did sub the evaporated milk with an 8 ounce container of soy cream cheese I thinned down with 4 ounces of vanilla coconut milk. (I made two pies) I wont be using Libby's recipe anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Fantastic recipe, this is the only one I will ever use. This is well worth the effort, becuase the taste is fresh and fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer zero
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Wow, awesome pie. I used a regular Halloween pumpkin and had enough for four pies. Great recipe. I use a little vanilla extract. But followed the recipe to a tee and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this recipe once before, and it is a must have for Thanksgiving, so much better than the canned pumpkin and I always used Libby's before. Thank you for a five star recipe! grdngrl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Abbott
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
My daughter in law did not like pumpkin pie because of the texture. Once she tried this pie she ate 3 pieces. Fantastic reciepe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I made this recipe with my two boys and we had a great time. The pie was delicious. I didn't give it 5 stars at my 6 year old's request because he thought it "took too long." If you are baking with kids, make sure they understand that they will have to wait until the next morning to enjoy the product of their labor. We also had to make a few modifications to get the pie to work well. First, the recipe makes more than can possibly fit in the usual store bought pie crust. I just baked the over flow pie filling in a small casserole dish without a crust along with the main pie. The other main modification was baking time. After 40 minutes the pie is too runny. You need to add at least another 10 minutes. Finally, covering the crust with foil in the beginning produced a deformed pie because the foil stuck to the crust and broke it when I removed it. Instead, bake the pie without covering the crust and then when it browns (20 min into baking) cover it with foil. This way the foil won't stick to the raw dough. In the end, great taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Tried it, Love it!! Best pumpkin pie I've ever had. Like it even better than my mom's recipe that I've been eating for my whole life. Shhh...don't tell my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This recipe received rave reviews from my family. I would much rather use fresh ingredients because of the plastic, etc., that is used in the canning process. The "extra" work that creates takes less than 5 minutes of manual labor & it is worth it to me. Like others I will increase the spice the next time but that is simply a matter of taste. Wonderfully easy & absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I make great pumpkin pies but this was rockin'. I think the flavour intensity comes from the pumpkins being roasted, and the delicious extra brown bits from the pan after roasting. Trust me, you will LOVE this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States