Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
yummy - just be sure you pour off the excess water from the pumpkin once cooked. I also found this made more filling than necessary for a 9" pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Have made this pie countless times! I do use 1 tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice and use heavy whipping cream (the real stuff, not the with carrageenan) instead of evaporated milk as it makes it even better! I always have a little extra pie filling and pour it into a small glass cooking dish and enjoy it once it cools! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmmmmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenmore, New York, USA
Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I think this is the best recipe for Pumpkin Pie I have ever made. It is fantastic. But next time I will add a bit more Nutmeg Spice on top of the Pp-spice. But I would really recommend this one for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvtworyde2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Reyno, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Good recipe . A "pie gourmet" neighbor rated it a 8.5/10 ! I made a few amendments. Substituted condensed milk for evaporated, omitted the sugar. (Condensed milk is already sweetened.) I roasted and added two turnips to the pumpkin, added more flavor so spices didn't dominate. I don't know exactly what pumpkin spice is so added, 1 tsp of each cinnamon , nutmeg and allspice. Pre-baked 'Mrs. Smith's frozen pie crust for 10 min at 450. Followed all other directions as written. YUM,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
awesome this is definitely a keeper! Everyone raved on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Made this for the first time for Thanksgiving a few days ago. Made on Wednesday, then refrigerated overnight. I did use a pie pumpkin (a 4 lb pumpkin yields a bit more than 2 cups of puree). Baked it per the instructions, then put in my food processor to puree. I did that ahead of time on the Tues before Thanksgiving. I used refrigerated pie crusts, and used a crust shield to prevent the over-browning of the crust. Like others, I increased the pie spice to 1 T (3 tsp). I baked it in a 10 inch pie plate: it was filled to the brim with no custard left over. Took a bit longer to cook but set up perfectly! It was perfect...seriously tasty, excellent texture. I will always use fresh pumpkin and this recipe in the future. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Absolutely delicious, I enjoyed it and pumpkin pie is not my favorite but I went for seconds. As others stated it is running prior to baking but it forms well after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I , like SO MANY others had never made a "real" pumpkin pie & just stumbled on this recipe when trying to find out how to make it. I personally roasted my pie pumpkins in the oven (a bit too long I think too) for about an hr @ 325 after cutting them in 1/2 & cleaning the "guts" as my boys so eloquently put it. This made extra work when turning into a purée as I had to add water & really work at it BUT once I got it to the consistency of baby food or smooth applesauce & it was PERFECT!!! Best pies I ever made (minus I burned the crust & using parchment paper to try to prevent further burning it stuck to the top so they aren't as pretty as I wld like) but sure is tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Robare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe...There is nothing better than fresh sugar pumpkin pie...Made one just after harvesting the pumpkins from the garden and making 2 of them for the holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I haven't used any other recipe since I've found this one! This year I did make a few changes though and it was even better, not that I thought it was possible, but my family also likes a little more spice. Here's what I did: First of all, my blender wasn't doing what it was supposed to do, so I added all the ingredients at the start with 1/4 -1/2 tsp ground cloves added in and only 3/4 can evaporated milk ...I still had left over filling...Anyway, I blended the ingredients on the lowest speed, gradually increasing till the fastest, blending until I began to see a few bubbles, then poured it into a frozen deep dish pie crust. Saved alot of time and dishes!! A must for anyone who hates the clean up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States