Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I want to add, for anyone who didn't like it: the flavor of the final pie depends on the variety of pumpkin you used. Don't use the variety that's called "sugar pumpkin", that type really isn't so great. Try something else like Winter Luxury, (if you can find it. Or, if the ony variety you can find is the ill-named tasteless "sugar pumpkins", try butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made this pie for Thanksgiving 2 days ago and my husband loved it, I did use more of the pie spice though after reading the comments .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Turned out good, everybody enjoyed. Was concerned the pie would be runny, so after scraping my pumpkin out of the shell I left it in a strainer for a while. Quite a bit of liquid drained off and my pie was firm and not watery at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I purchase pumpkins locally that have a white outer skin. They have a better flavor than the orange skinned variety. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I just made this for Thanksgiving and it is so delicious! I made a few mini pies for us to try before we take the big one to our family party tomorrow and they were so amazing! The flavor of the pumpkin filling is perfect, not to sweet, and it isn't hard at all to roast the sugar pumpkin. I threw all of the filling ingredients into the blender so it would be super smooth and less clean up. I also only used 3/4 of a can of evaporated milk because some of the reviews said it was too runny and I used 1 TBS Pumpkin Pie Spice just so it would be more flavorful. I used a refridgerated Pillsbury crust, used an egg white wash and blind baked it so it wouldn't get soggy (350 for 10 min then let it cool) and definitely use the foil! There was enough filling for two pies. Thank you for the recipe Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Heber City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Came out great! May have added more pumpkin spice than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
My husband doubted this recipe because I usually mess up on baked goods on my first try. This pie was so good I'm using the rest of the puree to make another one for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Warning to my fellow Canadian members. Carnation Evaporated Milk does not come in a 12 fluid ounce can. Be sure to measure it or you'll end up with pumpkin soup! That said, this was a wonderful recipe,all the folks at our Thanksgiving table loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Best recipe out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I thought it was FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States