Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Photo by xxsadiexx
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Hi i am from the uk and have wanted to try some popular american pies for some time and have never had the courage to try new things and even more so that the items that i need to make them are not available over here! so i used a fresh small pumpkin as we dont have canned pumpkin in the uk and i followed the guide on how to cook and puree again we dont have pumpkin spice mix so i used another recipes on this website which consists of nutmeg, cinnamon , ground ginger , cloves and a little bit of all spice and and it tasted wonderful to be honest i have never had this before so i have nothing to go by but the texture was soft and the sweetness was just right for me and it was a big hit with my family and i will be using this recipe again thank you so much for a easy to follow recipe xxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xxsadiexx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Really a good pie. I was quite nervous at first, the mix was verrry runny. I would suggest using a deep dish pie plate. I did not, and of course because I hate wasting I filled my shell all the way to the top and proceeded to spill it over the edges as I made my way to the oven :) It came out and I cheated and pulled up the edge around the crust and it looked like it curdled. I panicked and made another one (with canned pumkin) as a back up. Well dinner came around the next day and everything set. The pie was PERFECT. Very good and everyone loved it. I will definately use this recipe again. I did make my own pumpkin pie spice without cloves. Turned out to be a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
So good! perfectly creamy and it was pretty easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Puree help: add maybe a 1/2 - 1 cup water in the pan, and bake pumpkin for 90 mins @ 350F. Pumpkin will be very soft and easy to scoop and blend. If pureed result seems runny, then drain through a coffee filter or the like for a couple hours. This made the first step WAY easier, at least for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this recipe as written except I used a store bought pie crust. It turned out amazing and was simple. There is no need to ever use canned pumpkin again. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Cut the sugar in half, still excellent way to use the pumpkins from our garden! We used 4 cups to equal 1 pumpkin, seemed about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Very good--wonderful texture! I did use fresh pumpkin, and mixed my own pumpkin pie spice: 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp each of nutmeg, allspice, cloves, and ginger. I did have to bake the pie longer than directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This recipe is outstanding! Best pumpkin pie I've ever made. I made an all-butter crust from scratch, and followed the rest of the directions perfectly. However, I waited too long to take the foil off the crust, so the pie ended up baking for 1 hr and 10 minutes. It still turned out fine, but I would be sure to take the foil off at 40 minutes as the directions indicate. I also agree with other reviewers -- mix all the ingredients then puree with an immersion blender for a smooth, custardy pie. No way store-bought or canned pumpkin can compete with this. Next time I may try using soy milk instead of evaporated milk just to see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This has been my first experience using fresh pumpkins. Its difficult to know how much pumpkin puree one pumpkin will yield, this has been a bit of a learning curve, This recipe is fabulous and has made it impossible to enjoy a store bought pie or even canned pumpkin. This is the only pie recipe I will use from now on. Thanks so much for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave1976

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Old Town, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
The filling this recipe made was quite yummy, however I feel the sugar pumpkin was too hard to prepare and did not make a noticeable distance. Using a real pumpkin was not exactly worth the effort. At least now we have an abundance of toasted pumpkin seeds. Also, some people didn't like this recipe because the filling isn't as smooth as the one made with store bought ultrapureed pumpkin. I agree that the filling was grittier because it used home prepared pumpkin, but the taste is still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States