Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
So good! perfectly creamy and it was pretty easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Puree help: add maybe a 1/2 - 1 cup water in the pan, and bake pumpkin for 90 mins @ 350F. Pumpkin will be very soft and easy to scoop and blend. If pureed result seems runny, then drain through a coffee filter or the like for a couple hours. This made the first step WAY easier, at least for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this recipe as written except I used a store bought pie crust. It turned out amazing and was simple. There is no need to ever use canned pumpkin again. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Cut the sugar in half, still excellent way to use the pumpkins from our garden! We used 4 cups to equal 1 pumpkin, seemed about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Very good--wonderful texture! I did use fresh pumpkin, and mixed my own pumpkin pie spice: 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp each of nutmeg, allspice, cloves, and ginger. I did have to bake the pie longer than directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This recipe is outstanding! Best pumpkin pie I've ever made. I made an all-butter crust from scratch, and followed the rest of the directions perfectly. However, I waited too long to take the foil off the crust, so the pie ended up baking for 1 hr and 10 minutes. It still turned out fine, but I would be sure to take the foil off at 40 minutes as the directions indicate. I also agree with other reviewers -- mix all the ingredients then puree with an immersion blender for a smooth, custardy pie. No way store-bought or canned pumpkin can compete with this. Next time I may try using soy milk instead of evaporated milk just to see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This has been my first experience using fresh pumpkins. Its difficult to know how much pumpkin puree one pumpkin will yield, this has been a bit of a learning curve, This recipe is fabulous and has made it impossible to enjoy a store bought pie or even canned pumpkin. This is the only pie recipe I will use from now on. Thanks so much for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave1976

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Old Town, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
The filling this recipe made was quite yummy, however I feel the sugar pumpkin was too hard to prepare and did not make a noticeable distance. Using a real pumpkin was not exactly worth the effort. At least now we have an abundance of toasted pumpkin seeds. Also, some people didn't like this recipe because the filling isn't as smooth as the one made with store bought ultrapureed pumpkin. I agree that the filling was grittier because it used home prepared pumpkin, but the taste is still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Cooper

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is, by far, the best pumpkin pie we have ever had. I used a recipe on this site for the pie crust, and then followed the directions as is (except, I added just a tad more of the pie spice). My family raved over this pie and said it was better than any other pumpkin pie they've had. This is definitely a keeper! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
love it perfect for my high altitude living
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOW GIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States