Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I hate to be the first to rate this below 5 stars, but it really was just ok for me. In fact, with a familiy of 6, it took almost a week to finish. If something is irresistible, it is usually gone within 2 days. I can't think of what it was lacking, but there was just not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suerte126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by monic
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I added a bit more of the spices, and reduced evaporated milk to 8 ounce. it turn out perfect! this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monic

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I made it last night and my family members patiently waited overnight to have some today. They said it was SO worth the wait. I also brought some for a few fellow co-workers and they all said it was amazing! Thank you for this recipe :) I made 2 pies at once -just doubled the recipe and bought 2 pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
With the abundance of pumpkins this year it is a shame not to take advantage of this delightful vegetable/fruit? I find it much easier to place pumpkin in a large crock pot, add about 1/2 cup water and cook on high for about 2 hours. Your crock pot may vary so just check by poking with a fork for doneness. Lift out whole, cut in half, scoop out seeds, then scoop out pumpkin from skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I will never bake a pumpkin pie from a can again! I did not have evaporated milk so I substituted 1 can sweetened condensed milk for the can of evaporated milk and omitted the brown sugar and it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I wanted to try a new pumpkin pie recipe, so I decided to make this one. I won't be trying any others for a while because my husband RAVED about this pie, how delicious it is. He seldom comments on food! The pie IS mild, but if my sweetheart liked it well enough to rave about it, then that is good enough for me! ;) I like it very much as well, and it was quite easy to make. (I have made "from scratch" pumpkin pies before.) Thank you, Mrs. Sigg, for a new "keeper" for my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Cool stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Great flavor, set up well. The filling was perfect for a deep dish pie, it would have made two regular pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Wow. This pie is awesome. I followed the recipe to the letter, but I had to make my own pumpkin pie spice (used allrecipes "Pumpkin Pie Spice II" and changed servings from 2 to 3). I heeded previous comments and made one deep dish pie - there was exactly enough filling. The cooking instructions work for the deep dish pie, using the maximum cooking time for the 350-degree phase. I used Pillsbury refrigerated crusts (2 to box). Since these crusts are not big enough for a deep dish pan, I used the second crust to cut strips for the edges and just pinched the strips to the first crust. It worked great. Also, I'm in love with my new pressure cooker and used it to cook the pumpkin. 15 minutes! The skin was separated when I opened the pot and I just mashed the pumpkin with a fork. I didn't really need to, but I let the pumpkin mash sit in a sieve over the sink while I prepared the crust. There was very little liquid. If you make sure to get all of the seeds and strings out of the pumpkin before you cook it, mashing with a fork works just fine. It smelled so good and looked so perfectly cooked that I couldn't resist trying a piece while it was still very warm. The texture is perfect. The pie cuts cleanly, even when warm. And it is so good that I want another piece, but I am going to be good and just put it in the fridge soon when it cools a little more. Maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
LOVE this recipe - always gets rave reviews. No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States