Mrs. Ronzo's Lemon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
What a yummy "cookie". Its definitely cake-like not the consistency of a cookie. I did follow the recommendation to add more lemon extract to the cookie mix as well as I added some fresh lemon zest. This kicked the cookie up a notch. For the icing I added some more lemon extract and a bit more powdered sugar so it was more frosting-like and then I added yellow food coloring and garnished with yellow sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This cookie is amazing! It has just the right amount of sweetness. I did go a little heavy on the lemon extract after reading some reviews. To make it even lower in calories I used egg substitute, 1% milk and cut the glaze in half. With these changes, it is only 72 calories per cookie. I didn't use shortening either I used unsalted butter (had to be a little bad)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
A little lacking on the lemon flavor, but a good cookie nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Halo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Boy ..makes ya wonder, some people never have anything nice to say about recipes they try...well, I want to say that these were great ..texture, ease of making, etc...so they may need a bit more lemon extract... tweak to taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANALS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I added more lemon extract and some zest like other reviewers, and a pinch of extra flour to balance the additional liquid. As cookies, these were a little TOO cakelike for me, so for my second batch, I spread the batter thin over a parchment paper lined baking sheet, then cooled it and cut in half into two big squares, frosted one half with confectioners sugar frosting (with a drop of both lemon and vanilla extract in it) and lay the other half on top. Then I sprinkled confect sugar on top to make a pretty pattern and cut them into small bars. Little lemon cakes! They got great reviews from my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I am giving these 3 stars, they were okay and a good place to start. For me a lemon cookie needs more lemon. I will make these again but instead of lemon extract I will use lemon zest in the dough and lemon juice in the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Really yummy cookies! I loved them -- perfect for giving away on Christmas cookie platters. I also really liked how easy the recipe was. The cookies taste like something my grandmother would make, but were much easier! Note: These cookies taste equally as delicious with orange extract in the dough and icing. Also, make sure to use the parchment paper called for when baking the cookies. Without it the cookies tend to brown too much on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
These cookies are very good. I made them for my mom who loves lemon flavored things. They are not too sweet came out great but I did use the advice of others & added more lemon extract to the dough & icing. Will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
These turned out perfectly. First of all, though, I wouldn't call them "balls"- they are more cookie-shaped with a cake-like consistency. I added more lemon extract to the batter; just taste the batter as you add to get to where you want. I also added a bit more extract to the icing, and more water as well- 1 spoon at a time until I got the desired consistency. I put a few drops of yellow food coloring into the icing too so they screamed LEMON. Big success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HEATHER_ARTISTE
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Wonderful cookies. Easy to make and soooo yummy. They are one of our new favorites. I added colored sugar for the holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER_ARTISTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States