Mrs. Kurtz's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This tastes soooo yummy. I ate almost half the loaf instead of saving it for a family get together. I still got rave reviews from my mom and cousins from what was left for everybody, but I ended up buying over ripe bananas so I can make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Excellent flavor! I replaced one third of the flour with whole wheat, and reduced the sugar by about 1/4 cup - still ended up with a very sweet banana bread. I was very careful to mix until JUST blended - I tend to overmix everything. Great texture, very moist, a little crunch on the outside and overall great taste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Excellent! I used butter and added 1 tsp. vanilla. Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Besides giving me another way to use up sour milk, which I often do end up with, this was an excellent banana bread, simple to prepare, with a wonderful flavor. I've come back to this recipe more than a few times, and always am happy with the results, as are those I serve it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I made the recipe exactly as stated and was VERY pleased. So much so that I didn't even miss the nuts I usually consider a must in my quick breads. It was very moist and the slightly crunchy top and sides add a whole other dimension. I'll definitely be adding this to my recipe box - the actual one - not just my virtual one here! And I'll be making this for gifts this Christmas as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I used butter and added 1 Tsp. of baking powder. This Banana Bread has a good moist texture with a nice sweet flavour. It has a nice golden crust that is delightfully crisp. I wrapped half of the loaf in plastic wrap and left it over night and the outcome was a super moist, soft crust lovely banana bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I just got done making this gorgeous banana bread . Like to try different recipes out. Saw this thought it would be simple, well i guess maybe. Didn't last long in my house. I would rate this a 10 star. Will give this to my friends here in Vermont.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I made five loaves today as gifts for people who have helped me when I was in the wheelchair. I do not ever make a recipe for gifts that I haven't tried before, but I did today. I got raves from everyone. I also heard that people ate it plain and didn't use butter or jam. Thumbs up! I'd give it 6 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This is the perfect banana bread! So easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This is a very versatile banana bread recipe. I felt like it needed some cinnamon and chopped walnuts. These ingredients were added in and I got rave reviews from my hubby and my co-workers. This is most definitely going to be my go to banana bread recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States