Mrs. Kurtz's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Great little recipe! And it was a nice way to use up some ripe bananas! I used half brown sugar and half white sugar, buttermilk (sour milk) and added a nice splash of vanilla for good measure. Very tasty with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Besides giving me another way to use up sour milk, which I often do end up with, this was an excellent banana bread, simple to prepare, with a wonderful flavor. I've come back to this recipe more than a few times, and always am happy with the results, as are those I serve it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Nice and basic. I used butter instead of margerine. I made them into muffins to freeze for my husband's lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Excellent flavor! I replaced one third of the flour with whole wheat, and reduced the sugar by about 1/4 cup - still ended up with a very sweet banana bread. I was very careful to mix until JUST blended - I tend to overmix everything. Great texture, very moist, a little crunch on the outside and overall great taste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I made the recipe exactly as stated and was VERY pleased. So much so that I didn't even miss the nuts I usually consider a must in my quick breads. It was very moist and the slightly crunchy top and sides add a whole other dimension. I'll definitely be adding this to my recipe box - the actual one - not just my virtual one here! And I'll be making this for gifts this Christmas as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Excellent! I used butter and added 1 tsp. vanilla. Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Excellent. My husband and I are traditionalists, and this was just what we needed to partner with tea and/or coffee. Either way, the recipe is simple to make, easy to orchestrate, and the results were right on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adegea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Made this into muffins because I didn't have a loaf pan. Which worked out perfectly! Made ten muffins. Followed the recipe perfectly, but they came out a little less sweet and banana-y then I would have liked. (Probably because I love everything really sweet) Next time I think I'll throw in even more banana and maybe a tad bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by telepathy1994

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
It was a simple and delicious recipe. Comes out soft and moist with a little crisp around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This tastes soooo yummy. I ate almost half the loaf instead of saving it for a family get together. I still got rave reviews from my mom and cousins from what was left for everybody, but I ended up buying over ripe bananas so I can make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States