Mrs. Fields Cookie Recipe II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I thought the cookies were good, however everyone else thought they were the best thing since sliced bread so instead of a 3 or 4 I had to give it a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2taylgn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
If you bake these cookies without expecting them to be the 'real' thing, you may not be disappointed. Be careful not to overbake as warned. They will not look ready but trust that they are or else they won't be chewy. Overall, this recipe was definitely worth the time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neb123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I got a hold of this recipe about 15 years ago. It is fantastic. Be sure to blend the butter and the sugar until fluffy...this makes the cookies soft and chewy. The recipe can be easily cut in half. If you have no need for 52 cookies...roll out the rest into golf ball size and freeze on a cookie sheet on wax paper. Once frozen, store in the freezer in freezer bags. Then you can take out just a dozen or so. Let thaw a little before baking. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
I left out the grated chocolate bar but they were still nice. I would reccommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
This is what I want when I want a chocolate chip cookie. Perfect. Very pretty too -- stayed nice and fat, instead of spreading and flattening. The oats give it a great chewiness. I measured the ground oats and they came out to 3-3/4 cups, so next time I will just use oat flour in that amount instead of grinding my own oats. I replaced half the white sugar with Splenda, but bet I can get away with replacing all of it (since it will still have brown sugar in there too). Lasted almost a week, and were nice and soft the whole time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
These are the first chocolate chip cookies that taste very different from the classic Tollhouse recipe. I cut the recipe in half. I used wheat flour as Im trying to cut down on the white. It definately was the powderized oatmeal that gave them such a great taste. I refrigerated in between batches and scooped each ball with a small ice cream scoop. This will now become my staple cookie recipe. (It was very easy too and didnt take too long-maybe because I did cut it in half.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
These cookies are good-unique! The oatmeal adds a different taste...Only downfall is the amount of preparation...If you have a food processor w/ a blade to grate the chocolate-use it!!! I only used 3oz choc...I also mixed the flour & butter mixture together by hand!!! Boyfriend didn't much care for them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASHERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
Yum! This was a lot of work, but very delicious--well worth the effort! I cut the recipe in half--I don't need 52 cookies My boyfriend doesn't like nuts, so I omitted them and doubled the amount of chocolate chips (cut chocolate chips by 1/2, instead of 1/4). Powderizing the oatmeal was a great idea--it lends a unique and very subtle flavor to the cookie. I made the entire process much easier by adding in the chocolate (not chocolate chips) with the oatmeal, instead of grating it by hand. I also threw in 1/4 C of almonds while powderizing the oatmeal and chocolate-the texture is subtle enough that my boyfriend didn't notice. I also added 1 teaspoon EACH of cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger. It lends a slightly spicy taste that pairs very well with the grated chocolate. Please follow the cooking time--10 minutes for a smaller cookie, 12 minute for the larger ones. Grease the cookie sheet WELL, and wait at least 5-10 minute for the cookie to cool before removing them from the sheet--otherwise, they crumble. After they are cooled, however, they're not very crumbly, and can easily be packaged and shipped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This is an excellent recipe! I made a few modifications by using 2 cups of butterscotch chips and 2 cups of chocolate chips. I also used crunch bars for my grated chocolate bar. I will definitely make these cookies again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
Everyone loved these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States