Mrs. Fields Cookie Recipe II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
We loved this recipe! I didn't have the chocolate bar so left it out and it was just great. I used a coffee grinder for the oatmeal and while it didn't powderize it, it made it smaller and the cookies looked beautiful!!! We brought some to a business we frequent every employee came up to us to say "Thank you so much! Those cookies were the best!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Has anyone tried adding the oatmeal without powderizing it. I have made this for years and have always had only great comments on it. I have also made the regular Mrs. Fields cookie without the oatmeal and everyone always prefers the regular oatmeal to the plain recipe . It makes a chewy cookie but still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I'm comparing this recipe to mine from the 80's. I've made these cookies many times and 1) half this batch is more than enough fo me 2). Forget the blender. Use your food processor. You will save lots of time. 3) After you add the eggs, beat until fluffy. 4) use a 4 oz Hershey chocolate almond bar. Chop it up using a large knife and a cutting board. The pieces don't need to be even. That's one of the best things about this cookie. 5) Bake on ungreased cookie sheet. 6) My recipe says to bake 6-10 minutes at 375. A lower temp might be better but I have always had success at 375. 7) Don't overbake...which means take them out as soon as the edges begin to brown, even though they won't look done, This is my all-time favorite cookie recipe. It takes time. I have had great luck with the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe on this sight where I substituted 1 cup of flour with a cup of ground up oats. Guess where I got that idea. ;-) I didn't use the nuts in that recipe so I can't vouch for how it will turn out with nuts. But if you want a recipe that is a tad easier than this one...you might try that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
We have enjoyed this recipe for years. My recipe only calls for 1 tsp. baking soda and no chocolate bar nor nuts. We have made it without powderized oatmeal and it was good, but powderizing makes it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Maybe I did something wrong - but these came out way too dry for my liking. They fell apart while lifting off the cookie sheet. I will try again and fiddle with amounts to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
It's Christmas so instead of the grated chocolate, I put in M&M's....yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue NaDell Messner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I've been making this recipe for 20 years and it's just my favorite chocolate chip recipe. I may have to try adding the grated chocolate to the oatmeal as others have suggested. I do use the large baking chips by Ghiradelli (60%) - makes it seem much richer. I've never greased a cookie sheet and have never had any trouble. Today I tried something a bit different. For the grated chocolate, I used a Lindt bar that had unfused chili. I was uncertain how it would turn out so half of this batch was a regular Hershey bar. I can taste the "heat" - barely there, but will find out later if anybody else can (I know it's there)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Great recipe! I made it without the chocolate bar and nuts. They were just right! I love a fat cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
These were a huge hit for Valentine's day- fabulous cookie. Crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside when baked for 9 minutes. I used about 1 Tbs per cookie and it made 119 cookies. Took a long time- I bake one tray at a time- but completely worth the end result. Used a blender for the oatmeal and it worked out fine. You will not be disappointed, but Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies is still our family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERSEYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
The balls don't flatten during cooking, so flatten them with your hand or a spatula. And 9 minutes was perfect for my oven. I did one batch with half whole wheat flour and a-p flour and one with all 1-p flour and both were quite yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States