Mrs Espy's Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I'm only going to rate this a 3 for one reason. The recipe as listed is not very good. However, with the help of other reviewers - it becomes one of the best enchilada sauces EVER. First off, I used half California Chili Powder and half New Mexico Chili Powder (available in the Mexican food section of your grocery store in little baggies.) I used chicken broth instead of water, 8 oz. of tomato sauce instead of 4 oz, and added 1 tsp. oregano, 1 tsp. cumin, and 2 tsp. turbinado sugar. I made beef enchiladas and they were AWESOME! So don't be afraid to try this recipe - just doctor it up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2000
Muy bien! It is a very easy recipe to follow. However, one should be aware of the type of chili powder they are using. I am quite experienced in Mexican cooking & I use a home made chili powder so cut down the amount of chili powder to 3 tbsp. But for the less experienced cook may take a little time adjusting the amount to their particular taste. This is definately a recipe one should try if they want a true home made Mexican enchilada sauce. It is well worth the effort of experimenting with various chili powders. Once one masters this part of the recipe it is really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
This is real close to a recipe I make. I use 3 T veg. oil and only 1 T flour. Same amount chili powder. Get a good quality chili powder and add slowly to get to your liking. I use 2 C low sodium chicken broth instead of water.Gives a richer flavor. I use 10 oz. tomato paste,1 tsp oregano, 1 tsp. ground cumin and 1/2 tsp salt. Cook oil and flour 1 min. add chili powder and cook 30 seconds. add rest of ingredients and cook 10-15 min. This makes a bit thicker sauce and is really good. Thanks Brenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
WOW! I was really nervous about this. I usually use the can sauce, but I couldn't find my regular brand. I took the advice from another review- using 3TBS oil (but I used butter instead) and 1 TBS flour, but I sauteed some minced garlic in the butter first, then instead of 1/4 can tomato sauce, I used 1/2 can. I was so scared I was going to have to throw out my veggie and chicken enchiladas, but not only did it taste wonderful, my husband had three servings that night, then polished of the rest the next day. I only got to have one serving! He said it was better than the can kind! I'll be making it again this week. Thanks so much for the recipe and the tips! Just a note, even if it doesn't taste that great by itself, it's incredible when on your enchilads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I took the advice of the other rater's and to this recipe added 2 tsps of sugar and 2 tsps of chicken boullion powder since it was a bit bitter. It was excellent. Put it over homemade enchilada and backed ....was wonderful. Will make over and over again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
The consistancy and appearance of this sauce is almost identical to what you find in the canned sauce, and tastes every bit as good or better. The flavor is going to depend on what you use for "chili powder". Many commercial products add spices to ground chili and chiles vary in taste and heat. I used pure ground chili (chile rojo) found in the Mexican section. Be prepared to experiment a little. I added 2 tsp. of sugar as I thought the flavor of mine was a little bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I will never buy can sauce again. My family is Hispanic and they love Mexican food. It seems the can sauce is always too spicy for my little ones. Now I can decide how spicy it is by putting a little less Chili Powder. It is fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I was actually quite surprised. This was VERY good, and I am very hard to please when it comes to enchilada sauce. I did change it a little. I doubled the recipe. Like others, I used chicken broth. I used crushed garlic. But most importantly I used El Pato Jalapeno tomato sauce and a can of Herdez red salsa. I was a little hesitant to use the Jalapeno tomato sauce since it is very hot, and hubby hollers when I use it in anything (and he's of Mexican heritage, go figure.) I would have used El Pato hot style tomato sauce (in the yellow can) but didn't have any. But actually, with the chicken broth and water, it was perfect and hubby really liked it. Oh, and come to think of it, I didn't double the chili powder! An oversight on my part while I was doubling the recipe. Thanks Brenda. I will no longer use the can or packaged stuff, and the ingredients are things I almost always have in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This is my new favorite enchilada sauce. I use the bulk chilli powder at the grocery store and it is just right (not too hot). This is alot more like a authentic enchilada sauce than other recipes I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I also used 2 cubes of chicken boullion and 1 tsp of sugar. I used 1/8 c of ancho chili powder and 1/8 cup of Chipolte chili powder. I made ground beef and cheese enchiladas with this sauce. My boyfriends 15 year old son told me he loved me after I made this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States