Mrs Espy's Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Ok...I made the mistake of making this without reading the reviews...big mistake. The way the recipe is written is really, REALLY bland. I like the idea of being able to make my own sauce, but I would have to doctor it up quite a bit to get it the way that we like it. As written it's ok....but it could be great. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This sauce was so easy. I was hesitant about adding that much chili powder, but it wasn't too much. Next time I'll try substituting chicken broth for the water as other suggested to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I don't know what happened, but this turned out terrible. I followed the recipe to a "t" too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pima, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This was a great recipe. I tweaked it based upon what other reviewers said: 3 TBS oil 1 TBS flour I added crushed garlic to oil I also added 1tsp oregano, 1 tsp cumin and 1 tsp sugar. Also a shake of cinnamon:) I added 1/2 teaspoon paprika and 2 cups chicken stock instead of water. I omitted the tomato sauce because I dont like tomato sauce in my enchilada sauces. It came out AMAZING! My husband LOVED it. He had double servings and polished off the dish the next day. All I have to do now is find a really great recipe for the inside of the enchilada! I will definitely make these again. Family favorite:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I loved it. It's a good sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
VERY GOOD.I substituted half the chili powder with hungarian red paprika, I felt it tasted more like the restuarants this way. BOth are really good and really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aladyinredpolish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was so easy...won't have to buy canned enchilada sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
We made this to use on cheese enchiladas and everyone loved the sauce. Some said that it was better than any they've had at local restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I was actually quite surprised. This was VERY good, and I am very hard to please when it comes to enchilada sauce. I did change it a little. I doubled the recipe. Like others, I used chicken broth. I used crushed garlic. But most importantly I used El Pato Jalapeno tomato sauce and a can of Herdez red salsa. I was a little hesitant to use the Jalapeno tomato sauce since it is very hot, and hubby hollers when I use it in anything (and he's of Mexican heritage, go figure.) I would have used El Pato hot style tomato sauce (in the yellow can) but didn't have any. But actually, with the chicken broth and water, it was perfect and hubby really liked it. Oh, and come to think of it, I didn't double the chili powder! An oversight on my part while I was doubling the recipe. Thanks Brenda. I will no longer use the can or packaged stuff, and the ingredients are things I almost always have in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
A healthier, tastier alternative to canned sauce. I made this several times now. Based on other reviewers, I replace the water with chicken stock and add my chili powder based on personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chesapeake Baybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States