Mrs Espy's Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I have to thank awesome in tummy for the best enchilada sauce I have ever made. As well as the easiest. I believe that the additional suggestions made all the difference in the world. YUMMY indeed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Thanks Mrs Espy... I'm really glad to have a recipe for an Enchilada Sauce that I can make instead of having to use store-bought. I used less water than called for and about twice as much tomato sauce. Also equal amounts of chili powder and paprika. Added a dash of cinnamon, lots of garlic powder, and some generous shakes of hot sauce. I used the sauce for Black Bean/Spinach Enchilada Pasta... but while the pasta was cooking I dipped some tortilla chips in the sauce for my appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Delicious! Easy and so tasty. I used ancho chile powder, regular chili powder and about 1/4 tsp chipotle powder until I had the amount listed. As far as garlic powder, I just gave it a sprinkle or two. Probabably less than 1/8 tsp. I will double this next time as we really wished there was more. This was great on my enchiladas. My husband thought it was a little spicy, but my son and I loved it. I will admit maybe I did go a little heavy handed on the chili powders. Thanks, Mrs Espy, I loved your sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I thought this was very good, was the first time I made enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Very good. Good Enchilada/red chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I will never buy enchilada sauce!!! I love the ease and taste of this recipe. I use it in so many dishes and always have all the ingredients in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
As per the advice of other viewers - I doctored it up. It transforms into one of the best enchilada sauces on the planet! I used half California Chili Powder and half New Mexico Chili Powder. You can find these in the Mexican food section at the supermarket in the little baggies. Instead of water, I used chicken broth, 8 oz. of tomato sauce, and 1 tsp. oregano, and 1 tsp. cumin. I made chicken enchiladas and they were the bomb! I will definitely make this again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squalli Hummingbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
My recipe taste LOTS better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Simple and quick! I added more chili powder for extra kick. Will also try the chicken broth suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Ok...I made the mistake of making this without reading the reviews...big mistake. The way the recipe is written is really, REALLY bland. I like the idea of being able to make my own sauce, but I would have to doctor it up quite a bit to get it the way that we like it. As written it's ok....but it could be great. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States