Mrs Espy's Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I webt with the other reviewers suggestions and used chicken stock in place of the water.I also used the three T of oil, but used 1 1/2T of flour, 2 T of regular chili powder , 1 T of mexican chili powder, and 1 T of paprika.It was plenty for the five us, enough for the leftovers, soooo good!!Will never buy canned again. Thank You!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I have to thank awesome in tummy for the best enchilada sauce I have ever made. As well as the easiest. I believe that the additional suggestions made all the difference in the world. YUMMY indeed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Thanks Mrs Espy... I'm really glad to have a recipe for an Enchilada Sauce that I can make instead of having to use store-bought. I used less water than called for and about twice as much tomato sauce. Also equal amounts of chili powder and paprika. Added a dash of cinnamon, lots of garlic powder, and some generous shakes of hot sauce. I used the sauce for Black Bean/Spinach Enchilada Pasta... but while the pasta was cooking I dipped some tortilla chips in the sauce for my appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Delicious! Easy and so tasty. I used ancho chile powder, regular chili powder and about 1/4 tsp chipotle powder until I had the amount listed. As far as garlic powder, I just gave it a sprinkle or two. Probabably less than 1/8 tsp. I will double this next time as we really wished there was more. This was great on my enchiladas. My husband thought it was a little spicy, but my son and I loved it. I will admit maybe I did go a little heavy handed on the chili powders. Thanks, Mrs Espy, I loved your sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I thought this was very good, was the first time I made enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Very good. Good Enchilada/red chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I will never buy enchilada sauce!!! I love the ease and taste of this recipe. I use it in so many dishes and always have all the ingredients in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
As per the advice of other viewers - I doctored it up. It transforms into one of the best enchilada sauces on the planet! I used half California Chili Powder and half New Mexico Chili Powder. You can find these in the Mexican food section at the supermarket in the little baggies. Instead of water, I used chicken broth, 8 oz. of tomato sauce, and 1 tsp. oregano, and 1 tsp. cumin. I made chicken enchiladas and they were the bomb! I will definitely make this again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squalli Hummingbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
My recipe taste LOTS better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Simple and quick! I added more chili powder for extra kick. Will also try the chicken broth suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States