Mrs Espy's Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Maybe I did something wrong here. This was my first attempt at enchiladas and it was no good. It just tasted like tomato sauce. I think I will buy it next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This is a great base recipe, but I made a few tweaks-first I sauteed garlic in the oil and used chicken broth in place of water, added oregano and cumin and a pinch of cinnamon. Also, I added a can of tomatoes w/green chilis and put most of the tomatoes inside of my enchiladas with the rest of the filling. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenthecakelady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This turned out really good! I think it would have been even better had I had some better chili powder like the other reviews suggestted. I made chicken enchiladas so I used my broth from the chicken which I think made it better. It had a really good flavor. I wanted to make my own sauce because all the store bought has MSG and I was pleased with how this turned out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jarednchristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Use chicken broth instead of water and add a little onion powder and you've got yourself a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Very good! I used chicken broth instead of water and since I didn't want to waste my can of tomato sauce, added the whole can. SO good, I will never buy canned stuff again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDMonica

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Good enchilada sauce base. I added cumin, pinch of red pepper flakes, pinch oregano and used 4 cloves garlic (instead of garlic powder). Much better than the canned stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
LOVED IT. It turned out great everytime I cooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I really liked this sauce..I did have to add some more spice. I put in some taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt
Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was my first time making enchilada sauce myself. I'm not sure why, really, since I make nearly everything from scratch, but with this sauce I normally just grab a can at the grocery store. Not anymore! This was so easy to make, I always have chili powder around, and it tasted better than the store-bought stuff anyway! One tip for anyone making enchilada sauce for the first time, the recipe states to "salt and pepper and garlic powder to taste". Be fairly liberal, because this does require a decent amount of these things. I used probably 3/4 t. salt, 1/2 t. pepper, and about 1 t. garlic powder. Also, after simmering, I thought this could be a little bit thicker, so I added about 1/2 T. of tomato paste. This was so good and made awesome chicken enchiladas! I can't wait to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Very easy and quite good. You can vary the flavor by using a different specialty chili powder. I always use chicken broth instead of water. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States