Mrs Espy's Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
4 stars for what I ended up making. Based on other reviews, I used chicken broth instead of plain water; added 3 pressed garlic cloves with the chili powder; and a whole 8oz can of tomato sauce. What I added myself was a teaspoon of chipotle in adobo for a bit more smoky flavor and heat. [Put the whole can in a mini-processor and puree it. Then drop teaspoonfuls onto a plate and freeze it. Once solid, place all the drops into a bag and keep in the freezer until you need.] It had the perfect consistency. I won't buy a can again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Who knew it was so simple? I'll never buy canned again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Really good! It made a lot more than I needed for one 9x13 of enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilymarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Everyone Loved this sauce! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISSA22701

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I used ladyhen76's changes/additions and this was very good in an enchilada casserole I made. (It tasted yucky and grainy by itself but good once cooked into something.) Great way to control what's going into your body (including salt) is to make it yourself! It was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I just got done making this just as the recipe directed. I dont normally like enchilada sauce because its too watery and tastes to bland and weak. This sauce has an AMAZING flavor. I'm waiting for it to thicken up, if it doesnt i'll add a little thickner (incorporated sauce and flour) to it. Otherwise wouldn't change a thing about this recipe and I have no idea what kind of chili powder I used:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Watauga, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
this tasted like straight chili powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I love this recipe. I made changes based on other suggestions, using chicken stock instead of water (1/2 water 1/2 chicken stock), 8 oz can of tomato sauce, butter instead of oil, adding cumin, used 2 kinds of chili powder. Its so important to toast the spices in the roux before adding the liquid. It is just a great recipe that reminds me of my favorite mexican restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by realgapeach77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
The best homemade sauce. Don't buy can sauce!! This is great, just don't buy the super cheap chili powder...you get what you pay for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Outstanding!! recipe. I used this recipe along with another review by LADYHEN76 that used chicken broth instead of water, I used (low sodium broth) always can add more salt to your liking if needed. 8 oz. tomato sauce instead of 4 oz. Half and half of New Mexico Chili powder, CA. Chili powder = the 1/4 cup chili powder, 1 tsp. oregano, 1 tsp. cumin, salt & pepper to your liking and if you want to add some other spices like garlic powder or onion powder (little bits at a time) go for it. Oh and here's a great idea for an Enchilada dish, you can buy an already cooked whole roasterie chicken (large one from Costco or grocery store) cut up with some chopped cilantro and green onions No seasoning on the chicken add a ladle or two of the sauce to the chicken and don't forget the CHEESE I used 1 pound of already shreaded Monterey Jack and Cheddar cheese combo in a bag and mixed a hand full or two in with the then roll them up in a greased dish then top with remaining cheese and chooped onion and bake till bubbly. Awsome! Enchiladas!! Thanks to you, Brenda and Ladyhen76 Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States