Mrs Espy's Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I enjoyed the flavor of this sauce with additions. I like onion and garlic in mine so I stirred in chopped onion and garlic in with the spices and cooked them in the oil. I added a touch more tomato sauce and cumin to taste. I also used chicken broth in place of the water as other reviewers suggested. This sauce has a nice, silky texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
We loved this sauce! We are never buying jarred enchilada sauce again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is my families favorite enchilada sauce and it's so easy to throw together. I don't use alot of sauce on my enchiladas so I have enough left over to stick in the freezer for the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Didn't have any enchilada sauce so was looking for a quick and easy recipe to make instead. This one fit the bill! All of the ingredients I had on hand and it was so easy to make. I may never buy store bought enchilada sauce again! Thanks for the tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Wow! The best sauce not from a restaurant! Easy to make too. I used chicken broth, as most reviews suggested, but other then that, kept it the same. Not too much heat, and the kids enjoyed it also. I used it over Hearty Beef Enchiladas, and everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars because it is a WONDERFUL base recipe for enchilada sauce. Yes, you may have to tweak it and spice it up a bit more but I think it's better to have a recipe that you can add to and make it "your own" rather than a recipe that is set in stone and you find it too spicy once you've got it made. I followed the recipe exactly as written first to see how I needed to spice it up to my tastes. I then added 1/4 tsp onion powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1 TB taco seasoning, and instead of just 1/4 cup of tomato sauce I added the entire small can (which I think is 1 cup). This made the BEST pan of enchiladas I have ever made in my life. It tastes like it came from a restaurant. Thank you, Brenda! I will use this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This sauce was wonderful, it reminds me of one we used to get at a favorite restaurant that closed it's doors after 50 years.....I won't be missing it as much now. I used the chicken brooth, cut back on the chili powder and added a pound of cooked ground beef, we poured it over chhese enchiladas, my family is already asking for seconds, thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I made this sauce with LadyHen's recommendations, and it turned out delicious! Great recipe, as long as you make the needed adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I made a few changes off the bat (butter instead of oil and chicken broth instead of water) and then doctored it up because I wanted a sweeter, more tomato-y taste so I added another 12 oz of tomato tauce (2 8-oz cans total) and 2 T of catsup. It doesn't taste out of a can and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
4 stars for what I ended up making. Based on other reviews, I used chicken broth instead of plain water; added 3 pressed garlic cloves with the chili powder; and a whole 8oz can of tomato sauce. What I added myself was a teaspoon of chipotle in adobo for a bit more smoky flavor and heat. [Put the whole can in a mini-processor and puree it. Then drop teaspoonfuls onto a plate and freeze it. Once solid, place all the drops into a bag and keep in the freezer until you need.] It had the perfect consistency. I won't buy a can again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States