Mrs Espy's Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I made this with dollar store chili powder and it was very good. I did add a the cumin, sugar, and oregano as one reviewer suggested. Yummy, won't be buying canned again and tonight I'm trying it with the New Mexico chili powder. Great basic recipe to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
As is, this recipe is 4 stars - mostly because it is the perfect foundation recipe for what I call "red mexican gravy" which can be used on enchiladas or anything else you want to pour it on. It becomes a 5 star recipe if you do two things-- use chicken or beef broth instead of water, and use a high-quality chili powder. Really, this recipe is only ever going to be as good as the powder you use, so make it a point to use a good one. I used a good New Mexico chili powder and high quality beef broth and this sauce was ROCKIN'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I have never made Enchilada Sauce before but when I decided to make some Chicken Enchilada's I decided to find a recipe for some homemade sauce. This recipe turned out perfect. Since I had boiled chicken for the enchiladas I reduced the broth left from cooking the chicken and used this instead of the water. I also used the whole can of tomato sauce. The sauce did have a slight bitter taste so I did what some other reviewers had recommended and that was to add some sugar. I also added some cumin. This recipe makes a lot. I will never buy canned enchilada sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I've discovered I like making my own sauces since I get to control what goes in and this recipe is no exception. I followed the recipe exactly the first time and found it a good start but there were some things missing. Looking through the other reviews, I agree. Added 1-2 tsp of sugar, some cumin, and used chicken broth instead of water and wowza so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I also followed the suggested subs for this recipe: chicken broth instead of water, and add 1 can (8 oz) of tomato sauce. I also added some onion powder, oregano, and 1 tsp. of sugar to the mix based on my personal taste. Definitely will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Wonderful enchilada sauce! I used chicken broth instead of water, cut down the chili powder a bit and used 8 oz tomato sauce. Much better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
best enchilada sauce i've ever made,thank-you for sharing,i won't ever use any other recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This enchilada sauce was delicious! I did take a couple of the reviewer suggestions. I used 8 oz of tomato sauce instead of 4. For the chili powder I used 2 T ancho chili powder, 1 T chili (just says chili powder on the label) and 1 T of the taco seasoning recipe on this site by bill echols. Also, I added some veggie bouillon with the water. I put it on refried bean enchiladas that I got from cookinglight.com. Very yummy! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is one of those recipes you can't judge by itself. Have to have it ON something to know. Oh, btw, made this with (altered) Fiesta Chicken (turkey) Enchiladas & YUHM! Heated 2T olive oil & added 2T flour. Cooked a minute. Added 1/4c chili powder (cheapo $.50 Walmart kind, mild) mixed with 1/2t oregano, 1/2t black pepper, 2t (tolerable, but too much; trying 1t next time) salt, 2t sugar. Cooked about a minute, stirring constantly. Gradually added 8oz homemade turkey broth, then 8oz tomato sauce. Simmered 10 - 15 or longer. This makes about 2 cups. Reheat in glass, not plastic. KEEPER! BIG NEWS - at least to me - The second ingredient in my chili powder is salt. Salt probably isn't needed at all in this or any recipe using a salted chili powder. Check your labels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Made a good enchilada sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States