Mrs Espy's Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
i've made this many many times and the enchiladas came out so good, that i have even had them for breakfast the next day. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Luckily I had a can of enchilada sauce in the pantry, cause this was totally inedible. I thought it tasted tinny, and my husband simply couldn't tell what it tasted like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Good recipe but the type of chili powder does make a difference. I've made this recipe several times with minor changes. I prefer to use less chili powder and add some cumin and it was also excellent made with powdered taco seasoning instead of chili powder and the grandkids loved it. Next time I'm going to try using chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This was just OK. Too thin for our tastes and it needed some essential seasonings such as cumin. I enjoyed the "Ten minute enchilada sauce" on this site much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I thought this was a very good I added a little ground cuminseed to it and it was very good. It was a last minute decision to look up enchilada sauces and it was much better than the packages I usually buy. I will use this more often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Used this on "gerrys chicken enchiladas" soooo easy, loved it, got rave reviews! Thanks Brenda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I will never buy canned sauce again after making this recipe. I doubled it, using 4 c. chicken broth (2 cans) and 2 8 oz. cans no salt tomato sauce. I also used 5 Tbls oil with 3 Tbls wondra flour. Wondra does not get lumps! Best flour on the market. I know people have said in earlier reviews to not skimp on good chili powder, but I used what I had which was my own store brand and was just fine. I did the cumin and oregano thing as others have done....to taste. I really doused the sauce into my beef mixture as well as over the enchiladas This sauce tastes better than my favorite Mexican restaurant where I always order the enchiladas. My son took a dish of these enchiladas into school for a party in his Spanish class and got extra, extra credit for it. Hooray Mrs. Espy for this wonderful recipe. Big hit around here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
While this was simmering, I didn't think this was going to work - or taste very good - but it was wonderful on our beef enchiladas. The only change I made was I used jarred taco sauce in place of the plain tomato sauce. Very easy and delicious. Thanks, Mrs. Espy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Simple and easy to make. Authentic flavor that is better than most of the restaraunts I've been to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nickerson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
It was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Lula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States