Mrs Espy's Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I love this recipe!!!! this is not only the easiest I have tried it is also very versatile! Roserita and ElPaso brands~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ hasta la vista! This is every bit as good as most restaurant or canned sauce! Thanks for sharing! you can add beef or chicken boullion to help pump up the flavor of your dish! I will be canning/freezing this for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coolidge, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
We loved this and it was so easy. I froze the little bit we had leftover and used it again however the consistency and color were really unappealing after freezing. Next time I will make a little less sauce or make more enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Fabulous. Much better than canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I will never by enchilada sauce again!!! Too easy and amazingly tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Great recipe! I was very intimadated at first when I saw it. But after reading a few reviews I changed it up a little and became very confident it what I was doing. Suggestions: Use 2 cups of chicken broth instead of water. Make sure your pan isn't to hot! Stir! Stir! Stir! I used 1/8 cup of McKormicks Mexican Style Hot Chili powder and 1/8 cup of McKormicks Chili Powder. (Using the Mexican style gives it an extra kick, but not to spicy) Add a pinch of sugar after it has simmered and thickened up. It will remove the bitter taste from the chili powder!. ENJOY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. The texture was rough and the flavor was boring. Cumin and onion are must-haves for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOBBES7895

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This is basically the same sauce I make. The only change is to add the chili powder AFTER you add the water. If you burn the chili powder it tastes bitter. Also add the water slowly, and whisk it in that way you wont get as many lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I made this yesterday. I was in the mood for enchiladas and had no sauce. I saw this recipe recommended on a chicken enchilada recipe review, and I had all the ingredients. I had NO idea that it could be so easy to make great sauce! Wow! Now, maybe it was our chili powder, but it was a little over the top on the chili flavoring. I'll use a little less next time. It was the overriding flavor on the tongue and left a little burning too, so I'll cut back.I sprinkled some sugar into it, which helped a little bit but not enough. I also used chicken broth instead of plain water. One thing is for sure - there is no need to buy canned enchilada sauce with this recipe making it so easy! I made the cottage cheese enchiladas from this website, a double batch of this sauce, and we had an amazingly great dinner that tasted just as good today as leftovers. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I had no idea it would be so easy to make my own enchilada sauce from scratch! While I keep away from cans and mixes for most everything else, I always use canned enchilada sauce. Not anymore! Within 3 minutes of starting it on the stove, my husband commented that it smelled really good. It was then that I knew it would turn out well. Our enchiladas are in the oven right now, but the spoon of sauce I tried was amazing and quite spicy. Instead of regular tomato sauce I used the El Pato yellow can and some pureed tomatoes since I was tripling the recipe and needed more tomato. I also added some cumin and paprika just for good measure. The flavor was so much more complex than canned sauce and worth the few extra minutes to put together. I can't wait to try the enchiladas! I know that I probably should have waited to write the review until AFTER eating the finished dish, but what I already tasted was incredible, so I can only imagine how great dinner's gonna be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I used hot chili powder from Sauers. I used less oil and omitted the salt. A simple and very delicious recipe that I used in a casserole since I didn't have a jar of enchilada sauce on hand. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States