Mrs Espy's Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
very authentic taste i used it as the perfect sauce on my chile rellenos. the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
from one picky south texas mexican I have to say, this is AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by retrocookinmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I just made this sauce for an enchilada recipe I found on here. I didn't want to use canned. This is so good. I made a few modifications. I doubled the batch. I also made this with chicken broth and added cumin. YUM! This is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Awesome! Why not make this instead of using the canned junk. It tastes so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTNMYNAILS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I used El Pato tomato sauce, added some dried oregano, and omitted the salt. Very good. Made this for "Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This recipe was wonderful!!! I am allergic to onions so I usually have to avoid pre made mexican sauces. This was the answer I was looking for. I use this on chicken and cream cheese enchiladas with rice and cheddar cheese inside as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I was going to make Chicken Enchilada Soup from this sight but I didn't have any enchilada sauce. I looked at what was on this sight and decided to give this one a try. It was great!!! I will never buy enchilada sauce again. Not only was this good but it was so easy to make. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Great Stuff and so easy to adjust once you have a basic recipe! I did end up adding some cornstarch in cool water towards the end because it wasn't quite thick enough. My BF was so happy because enchiladas are his all time fav and he said these were just as good as the restaurant. Overall very pleased :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I made this recipe on a clean out the fridge night. I had about a cup of chicken broth left so I cut a cup of water and added chicken broth. I also cut way back on the chili powder to keep it mild for my kids and husband. It lacked a little something so I added a half a tablespoon of sugar and that seemed to balance it out just right. I simmered it for at least twice the amount of time called for because it was a little thin. It reduced down nicely. Used this over the top of Chili Rellenos Casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glennville, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Hands down the BEST! My husband has been hoping I would find something like this for years. When I made this sauce, he was so impressed! This is the ONLY sauce I will ever use for enchiladas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States