Mrs Espy's Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I enjoyed the flavor of this sauce with additions. I like onion and garlic in mine so I stirred in chopped onion and garlic in with the spices and cooked them in the oil. I added a touch more tomato sauce and cumin to taste. I also used chicken broth in place of the water as other reviewers suggested. This sauce has a nice, silky texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
We loved this sauce! We are never buying jarred enchilada sauce again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is my families favorite enchilada sauce and it's so easy to throw together. I don't use alot of sauce on my enchiladas so I have enough left over to stick in the freezer for the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Didn't have any enchilada sauce so was looking for a quick and easy recipe to make instead. This one fit the bill! All of the ingredients I had on hand and it was so easy to make. I may never buy store bought enchilada sauce again! Thanks for the tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Wow! The best sauce not from a restaurant! Easy to make too. I used chicken broth, as most reviews suggested, but other then that, kept it the same. Not too much heat, and the kids enjoyed it also. I used it over Hearty Beef Enchiladas, and everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars because it is a WONDERFUL base recipe for enchilada sauce. Yes, you may have to tweak it and spice it up a bit more but I think it's better to have a recipe that you can add to and make it "your own" rather than a recipe that is set in stone and you find it too spicy once you've got it made. I followed the recipe exactly as written first to see how I needed to spice it up to my tastes. I then added 1/4 tsp onion powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1 TB taco seasoning, and instead of just 1/4 cup of tomato sauce I added the entire small can (which I think is 1 cup). This made the BEST pan of enchiladas I have ever made in my life. It tastes like it came from a restaurant. Thank you, Brenda! I will use this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This sauce was wonderful, it reminds me of one we used to get at a favorite restaurant that closed it's doors after 50 years.....I won't be missing it as much now. I used the chicken brooth, cut back on the chili powder and added a pound of cooked ground beef, we poured it over chhese enchiladas, my family is already asking for seconds, thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I made this sauce with LadyHen's recommendations, and it turned out delicious! Great recipe, as long as you make the needed adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I made a few changes off the bat (butter instead of oil and chicken broth instead of water) and then doctored it up because I wanted a sweeter, more tomato-y taste so I added another 12 oz of tomato tauce (2 8-oz cans total) and 2 T of catsup. It doesn't taste out of a can and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
4 stars for what I ended up making. Based on other reviews, I used chicken broth instead of plain water; added 3 pressed garlic cloves with the chili powder; and a whole 8oz can of tomato sauce. What I added myself was a teaspoon of chipotle in adobo for a bit more smoky flavor and heat. [Put the whole can in a mini-processor and puree it. Then drop teaspoonfuls onto a plate and freeze it. Once solid, place all the drops into a bag and keep in the freezer until you need.] It had the perfect consistency. I won't buy a can again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States