Mrs Espy's Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
As is, this recipe is 4 stars - mostly because it is the perfect foundation recipe for what I call "red mexican gravy" which can be used on enchiladas or anything else you want to pour it on. It becomes a 5 star recipe if you do two things-- use chicken or beef broth instead of water, and use a high-quality chili powder. Really, this recipe is only ever going to be as good as the powder you use, so make it a point to use a good one. I used a good New Mexico chili powder and high quality beef broth and this sauce was ROCKIN'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I have never made Enchilada Sauce before but when I decided to make some Chicken Enchilada's I decided to find a recipe for some homemade sauce. This recipe turned out perfect. Since I had boiled chicken for the enchiladas I reduced the broth left from cooking the chicken and used this instead of the water. I also used the whole can of tomato sauce. The sauce did have a slight bitter taste so I did what some other reviewers had recommended and that was to add some sugar. I also added some cumin. This recipe makes a lot. I will never buy canned enchilada sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I've discovered I like making my own sauces since I get to control what goes in and this recipe is no exception. I followed the recipe exactly the first time and found it a good start but there were some things missing. Looking through the other reviews, I agree. Added 1-2 tsp of sugar, some cumin, and used chicken broth instead of water and wowza so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I also followed the suggested subs for this recipe: chicken broth instead of water, and add 1 can (8 oz) of tomato sauce. I also added some onion powder, oregano, and 1 tsp. of sugar to the mix based on my personal taste. Definitely will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Wonderful enchilada sauce! I used chicken broth instead of water, cut down the chili powder a bit and used 8 oz tomato sauce. Much better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
best enchilada sauce i've ever made,thank-you for sharing,i won't ever use any other recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This enchilada sauce was delicious! I did take a couple of the reviewer suggestions. I used 8 oz of tomato sauce instead of 4. For the chili powder I used 2 T ancho chili powder, 1 T chili (just says chili powder on the label) and 1 T of the taco seasoning recipe on this site by bill echols. Also, I added some veggie bouillon with the water. I put it on refried bean enchiladas that I got from cookinglight.com. Very yummy! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is one of those recipes you can't judge by itself. Have to have it ON something to know. Oh, btw, made this with (altered) Fiesta Chicken (turkey) Enchiladas & YUHM! Heated 2T olive oil & added 2T flour. Cooked a minute. Added 1/4c chili powder (cheapo $.50 Walmart kind, mild) mixed with 1/2t oregano, 1/2t black pepper, 2t (tolerable, but too much; trying 1t next time) salt, 2t sugar. Cooked about a minute, stirring constantly. Gradually added 8oz homemade turkey broth, then 8oz tomato sauce. Simmered 10 - 15 or longer. This makes about 2 cups. Reheat in glass, not plastic. KEEPER! BIG NEWS - at least to me - The second ingredient in my chili powder is salt. Salt probably isn't needed at all in this or any recipe using a salted chili powder. Check your labels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Made a good enchilada sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This has become our "go to" dinner when I dont know what else to make because its actually very quick and easy, I almost always have all of the ingredients for it, and we never get tired of eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States