Mr. Janssen's Temptation Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
What a great recipe! It was very good to end the evening with such a tasteful dish. Highly recommended for parties or just an evening meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
Janssen's Temptation is a cool weather favorite in my family. Just don't tell anyone about the fish until afterwards. This recipe is a lot simpler than the one I had in my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This was great! Very easy, too. I wasn't sure which type of potatoes to use (russet, red, white, etc.), so I used the small white ones. Glad I did - the amount called for in the recipe was perfect. I took the lazy way out and chopped the onions in my food processor - turned out fine. I used 12 anchovies instead of 20, and I liked it - it was not overly fishy that way. This dish was a hit at a Swedish Christmas party (julfest) I attended. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Yum, yum, yum -- great comfort food. I love the extra layer of flavor from the anchovies. My husband loves this, too, and he has no idea there are anchovies in it. This was wonderful with braised and buttered cabbage. I had to cut the recipe way down since there are only two in my household. Four potatoes, 8 anchovies, and I used half/half for the cream. I might use just a bit fewer anchovies next time. I enjoy stories so thought I'd share this story I found about Mr. Janssen and his tempting dish: http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/food-first-catch-your-anchovies-1295644.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I've been living/working in Sweden over the past year and some and I am starting a collection of Swedish recipes for when my Swedish boyfriend and I move to Canada. I figure a little Swedish cooking will help him feel more at home (he's never been to Canada). This recipe is alot simpler than many you find for Janssons Temptation, and suprisingly it tastes just as good as any you can have in Sweden. Thanks for sharing, this is a definate keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronach, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Ljugarn, Gotlands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I really like anchovies, so I knew I would like this dish -- I could definitely taste them! This dish is filling, easy and cheap. I used 1 Idaho potato, 1 onion, 1 tin of anchovies and about 1/3 pint of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by giraffegirl
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I left out the anchovy fillets and added a layer of crisp bacon..... mmmmmm this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was our first time trying anchovies. As a general rule we like fish, though a couple in the family are not fond of fish. This dish, however, cooked up very mild with a slight taste of fish...but different. Everyone ate it, most had seconds, and I will be cooking it again. We enjoyed it with some bacon wrapped asparagus and the two proved to be quite filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Very good and very hearty! I would reduce the anchovies by 1/4 but otherwise it is great! Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This was surprisingly wonderful! I wanted to give anchovies another chance after hating them since childhood. I made half a batch, because I knew our kids wouldn't try it. Aside from that, my only tweaks were to saute my onion a little and add some flat-leaf parsley and black pepper. Had it with a nice spinach salad for a really good, inexpensive meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Chef John’s Patatas Bravas

See how to make “fierce” and flavorful crispy Spanish potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States