Mozzarella and Tomato Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Loved these! I used fresh basil and grape tomatoes from my garden. Could not find the small mozzarella balls at the store so I got a large marinated ones and cut into squares. The only time consuming thing is folding the sliced procuitto (mine was very thin). I used EVOO/balsamic in place of the italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
these were yummy! drizzled with olive oil and vinegar dressing, used plain mozzarella balls (lazy of me, i know) and it was delicious. will definitely make again -- great midnight snack. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Made these for a wine dinner with friends and they were a great hit. Loved them. I also used the non marianated mozz balls instead, b/c the store didn't have the marinated ones and I didn't have time to marinate them. Definitely going to be added to my appetizer repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This were a smash as a fresh addition to my appetizer table. I found longer than usual toothpicks, so I added a kalamata olive to each, as well. They were a hit!!! I used some fresh cherry tomatoes, straight out off of the bush, which added such a pleasant taste, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Andersen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I brought this appetizer to a pig roast BBQ. It really was a hit! I used a round loaf of bread and "stuck" the mini skewers in it. Then I used a round plater, lining the perimeter of the bread with fresh basil leaves. On top of the leaves I alternated tomato mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I couldn't find cocktail toothpicks but found a little larger wooden ones. To make everything fit, I just cut a bigger slice out of each grape tomato. I also used a large leaf of basil for each. I bought small marinated mozz. balls from the deli section at the food market. Everyone at the party just raved about them. The only thing I would change is to make more next time, which according to my father-in-law, is the next party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eyzrblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Haddon Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was beautiful and delicious. I also marinated the mozz balls. I added artichoke and prosciutto to the skewer. I couldn't find the toothpicks, so I used half of a skewer you would use for a kabob. I then stuck them into one large tomato, and decorated the outside of the plate with basil leaves. Will DEFINITELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Extremely popular at parties! Would suggest using only one tomato, since its quite a mouthful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Instead of prosciutto, I used hard salami (cheaper, and I cut each slice in half and rolled it up) and I marinated my mozzarella balls ahead of time, and left out the basil and italian dressing since the marinade gave a similar flavor. My mozzarella balls were so small, I put two on each toothpick (salami, mozz ball, grape tomato, mozz ball) and after it was all assembled, sprinkled a bit of course kosher salt and cracked pepper. So pretty! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
great appetizer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley(chef)

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States