Mozzarella and Tomato Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I brought this appetizer to a pig roast BBQ. It really was a hit! I used a round loaf of bread and "stuck" the mini skewers in it. Then I used a round plater, lining the perimeter of the bread with fresh basil leaves. On top of the leaves I alternated tomato mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was a HUGE hit at our family reunion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
These were fantastic. Everyone loved them - and I will definitely make them again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
These were time intensive but absolutely beautiful. My extended family gobbled these up when I brought them as an appetizer to a family meal. I definitely recommend this, and will happily make this as an appetizer or for a tapas-style summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was beautiful and delicious. I also marinated the mozz balls. I added artichoke and prosciutto to the skewer. I couldn't find the toothpicks, so I used half of a skewer you would use for a kabob. I then stuck them into one large tomato, and decorated the outside of the plate with basil leaves. Will DEFINITELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I did not like this at all. I think it would've been better to use slicing tomatoes and layer the ingredients rather than put them on picks. I suppose it wouldn't be as pretty that way, but, I do think it would taste better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vanessa
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Very colorful and tasty appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This didnt go over so well at Easter. I had over half the plate left. They all opted for the more fattening appetizers. It could just be my family. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I couldn't find cocktail toothpicks but found a little larger wooden ones. To make everything fit, I just cut a bigger slice out of each grape tomato. I also used a large leaf of basil for each. I bought small marinated mozz. balls from the deli section at the food market. Everyone at the party just raved about them. The only thing I would change is to make more next time, which according to my father-in-law, is the next party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eyzrblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Haddon Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Made this for my husband's work. Got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Versailles, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States