Mozzarella and Tomato Appetizer Tray Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Absolute, flat out perfection. My only criticism would be that using dried herbs would only detract from the sheer beauty and fresh flavor of this, so if at all possible, use fresh parsley, basil and oregano. I made individual appetizer plates which couldn't have been prettier or tastier. Exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I took this to a party and they quickly disappeared. I cubed the cheese to fit on toothpicks and just treaded all the ingredients starting with the caper,then half of a cherry tomato, red pepper then cheese and spooned the pesto over it all. I did this hours in advance. Very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I made individual stacks instead of a platter, I used fresh basil leaves (left them whole & layered them in the stacks but next time I'll chop it) & I'm out of roasted red pepper so I used sliced banana pepper (loved the flavor & will make the sub again next time!). I used Columela EVOO (the best, according to Cook's Illustrated) & I added just a bit of white balsamic vinegar. I garnished the stacks w/ chopped red onion, a whole banana pepper & huge caper berries. This is the best caprese salad I've ever had...thanks for the recipe, Gail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I threw this together for a Christmas party I had and it was SO good. It only took about 3 minutes to make and EVERYBODY thought it tasted delicious. I will definately make this again- even for a light meal in the summer time. I had bought a jar of roasted red peppers but forgot to put them in and it STILL tasted excellent. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Ok, so I changed this - I cut thin slices of a baguette and put the tomato on, then the mozerella and baked it in the oven at 350 until the cheese melted and then drizzled the ingredients over the top - I left out the red pepper - Everyone went wild over them! They are delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I made this for a party and the only thing I changed was I dribbled some balsamic vinegar over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yo.mags

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Pretty to look at and easy to prepare. I did use fresh mozzarella and basil but dried parsley. Also fresh ground pepper is a must. This is something that would be best served during summer when fresh tomatoes are at their peak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
i think the mold monster got to my tomatoes prior to making this dish, but i couldn't swear to that because i was on some pretty jammin' pain killers. i also did not use fresh herbs because i was not about to stumble into the backyard and chop up a bunch of plants. even without the tomatoes, the cheese drizzled with the dried and bottled spices/olive oil concoction was divine. i'm pretty sure anyway. i ate it all and plan on making it again during a more lucid moment. it paired beautifully with "belgian squirrel" (also from this site) and a dozen or so glasses of 1959 chianti wine. thanx man for a groovy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I make this appy all the time, however, to make eating easier, I use mozarella balls instead of the slices. I normally just sprinkle the cheese and the peppers with Italian seasonings and drizzle evoo. I loved all of your additions; especially the capers (yum) and the fact the herbs were mixed with the oil. This made my "usual" absolutely incredible!! Thanks a heap Gail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This is awesome! I made this for company recently and they couldn't get enough of this!!! I used fresh mozzarella for this instead of regular mozzarella and it worked really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States