Mozzarella and Tomato Appetizer Tray Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
So fresh and easy to make. The herbs make this dish. Use fresh herbs if you can - they really make the flavor pop. Great dish for entertaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Amazingly good! The herbed-oil mixture is what sets this apart from every other tomato/mozz appy out there. I brought this to a BBQ with my in-laws yesterday and I've already been told not to show up for Thanksgiving without it. LOL I layered all the ingredients on thin slices of bread. I worried that the bread would get stale or soggy but it actually was great. It not only gave you something to pick it by to eat it, but it soaked up the tasty oil and vinegar and was like you'd dipped bread in infused oil. I doubled the oil recipe because I was making two trays. I used fresh parsley and basil (I agree with everyone else that fresh herbs are a MUST for this) and followed another reviewers suggestion of subbing a little salt for the capers. With 4 large cloves of garlic, it was a little garlic-y for my liking but everyone else at the party said they loved the strong garlic taste. I would probably use 3 cloves next time. I also omitted the red pepper (just forgot about it honestly but we never missed it) and drizzled balsalmic vinegar over everything after drizzing the oil. Very impressive presentation and excellent results. A real keeper - thanks MOLSON7!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I love caprese salad! The added roasted red pepper was really delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Ok, so I changed this - I cut thin slices of a baguette and put the tomato on, then the mozerella and baked it in the oven at 350 until the cheese melted and then drizzled the ingredients over the top - I left out the red pepper - Everyone went wild over them! They are delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This recipe was ridiculously good!! I substituted fresh basil and oregano, and added a bit of salt to the herb mixture in lieu of the capers. I also added a bit more salt on the tomatoes prior to placing the mozzarella, and garnished with chopped red onion as well. It was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I wasn't a big fan of this, but I DID use all dry herbs instead of fresh, so that could have made a big difference. There just wasn't a lot of taste. I also left out the capers and served this with rosemary sourdough bread. All that being said, I brought this to a party and several people there commented on how much they liked it. Again, I think fresh herbs are key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Photo by MayBe27
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I love this recipe! I use all fresh herbs except oregano which I prefer in dried form. Next time I will drizzle with a little balsamic vinegar which I think will really add something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayBe27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Love it! Suggestion: Make with homemade mozzarella
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
awesome flavor! i added fresh basil to the top!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This went over REALLY well. Brought it to the MSU vs UofM game (Go State!) and one quote I received was "This is what they serve in heaven." I layered two slices of tomato in between two slices of mozzerella. I skipped the roasted red peppers as I didn't like the bitter taste of the jarred ones I bought. I also put a leave of fresh basil on top of the tomato before layering the second slice of mozzerella on top. Phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States