Mozzarella-Stuffed Pesto Turkey Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Excellent! I changed serving to 1/3 and omitted the pesto and mozzarella but I added 2 spicy Italian sausages (casing removed) and a splash of olive oil. I made into a meatball sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I'm the "italian friend" in the bunch so when I cook anything that has to do with a pasta dish I get all of the pressure to create something amazing. My friends definitely loved it and my husband voiced his praise which isn't easy to make him do! They said they didn't know turkey could be so flavorful, but I always use turkey over beef when I can. A lot of reviewers seem to be omitting the pesto but it is so worth using. I just scoop the turkey mixture with my little 1/4 cup measuring scoop and pressed the cheese right in, scooped it out with a spoon and pat them into shape. They went great with some chunky sauce and I stir-fried some green string beans with olive oil, garlic, and lemon pepper, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jah Studded

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This is a great recipe and easy to fix, even with substitutions. In place of Italian bread crumbs, we used crushed corn flakes with Italian seasoning and poultry seasoning. They still tasted delicious! And my husband loves pesto, turkey and cheese so this is a winner. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This was a tasty base for a meatball and I made just as listed. I baked one batch and the cheese oozed out of all them. Next I tried larger meatballs with the same amount of cheese and the same thing happened. There really wasn't any melty cheese in the middle so it was just a regular meatball with cheese baked on to my pan. That being said, this was the best turkey meatball recipe I have tried so far. 5 stars if someone can tell me how to keep the cheese inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
So so so good! Only used regular shredded parm instead of the mix. Hubby and baby loved it too! Can eat alone or with pasta. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Love this! I was able to form meatballs even though I used ground turkey breast and thanks to the pesto mixed in and mozzarella inside, they were not dry at all. I did not drizzle with olive oil to save calories, just used cooking spray in the pan so they would not stick. I served with zucchini "noodles" and homemade marinara sauce. So delicious my hubby was not even aware they were healthy. Score! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I made the recipe EXACTLY as stated above. The meatballs held together well, but I felt they were a bit bland. Great recipe otherwise! The second time I made them, I adjusted them slightly for stronger flavor. I add about 1 tbs. Italian seasoning and 1/2 tsp. salt. I also like to double the pesto and garlic cloves for a stronger flavor. I fry the meatballs until brown and crisp on all sides in a pan with the olive oil instead of baking them, I like a more browned exterior per my preference. I finish the meatballs off by simmering them in my home made tomato sauce for longer than 2 mins, I like simmering them for 30 mins - 1 hour, this helps them get tender and flavorful. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha A. Estremera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
These meatballs are amazing. So moist, so flavourful! Kids loved it. Paired with Best Marinara Sauce recipe from this site. I used Panko crumbs instead of Italian Breadcrumbs and whisked all ingredients together before mixing with turkey. Going to make these into meatball subs tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Used smoked ground venison, also a lean meat. Did feel the oil added anything, but overall amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I have difficulty getting my boyfriend to eat anything other than red meat. My boyfriend agreed to eat this again, which isn't common if it isn't beef. Therefore I Highly recommend this recipe! We used dried parsley and just used a little less of it, since I had it in the cupboard and it taste fine that way also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States