Mozzarella Mushroom Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Excellent recipe! I added basil, parsley and a little oregano.I let everything simmer in the pan for 30 minutes, then added some flour to make a gravy... WHICH WAS FABULOUS!! I also cut the chicken into halves. It was EXCELLENT! We will definately have this dish again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley Bri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is a good recipe. I have made this for years. I do it a bit differently. For step one use the same seasonings with a little flour to coat the chicken, and saute the breasts till golden. I remove the chicken to a plate. In the skillet, saute the mushrooms till tender. Then add 1C chicken broth, 1/3 C Marsalla wine. Simmer, scraping up any bits in the pan. Return the chicken and simmer till heated through. I top it with the cheese, put a lid on to melt it, then serve with linguini or a rice pilaf. Ladle the sauce with mushrooms over the cheese topped chicken It is a great variation. The recipe as is, is very flavorful, and with the light flavor of the wine sauce can really add to it. ***KimasWeiss**** I prefer this in the oven too. Follow the 1st step browning the seasoned & floured chicken. when done, put it in a baking dish. In the skillet saute mushrooms, onion if you like, then add the broth/wine and let it simmer till reduced about 1/4. Pour over the chicken and top with cheese. 25 mins @ 350 and your set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I added one onion (cook this before adding mushrooms) with the mushrooms. I also added a clove of garlic to this and salt and peppered it. Turns out better with a combination of EVOO and butter/margarine. After the mushrooms and onions are somewhat cooked I added the chicken. Make sure you don't overcook the chicken! I seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper as well. Eyeball the cheese and sprinkle the cheese directly into the pan so it melts. Serve from the pan. I eat it with steamed white rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I thought this was very tasty and easy. I took the advice of another reviewer and added fresh basil and parsley. I think that really made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I KNOW I SHOULD TRY AS RECIPE STATES FIRST BUT I COULDN'T HELP MYSELF- I KNOW THIS RECIPE AS STATED WOULD BE AWESOME THOUGH- BUT.... HERE'S MY CHANGES- PLEASE REMEMBER THAT I EAT LOW CARB, SO FAT IS NOT COUNTED- 4 BONELESS CHIC BREAST- POUNDED THEM- PLACED IN A BAKING DISH AND SALTED, PEPPERED, AND SMEARED ON MINCED GARLIC- LAID SMALL SLICES OF BUTTER ON TOP-LAID BACON ON TOP OF THAT (NOT HUGE AMOUNTS PEOPLE)- BAKED AT 350 UNTIL ALMOST COOKED- TURNED ON BROILER TO CRISP BACON- COVER IN MUSHROOMS THAT I HAD SAUTEED IN PAN WITH BUTTER AND COVERED WITH MOZZARELLA- RAN BACK UNTIL BROILER UNTIL MELTED- I DECIDED TO BAKE 'COZ ONCE YOU POUND 4 BREASTS ITS HARD TO COOK IN A SKILLET ALL AT ONCE- HOLY COW- IT WAS SO AWESOME AND TENDER- AND ACTUALLY BEAUTIFUL- THAT CHEESE UNDER THE BROILER STARTS TO JUST GET COLOR LIKE IT DOES ON A PIZZA- NICE PRESENTATION-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was a huge hit. I made quite q few changes though. 1) I put 1/4 cup flour in a zip lock bag along with oregeno, parsely, basil, onion powder, garlic powder, garlic salt and black pepper. 2) I shook each piece of chicken in the bag to fully coat. 3) while the chicken was cooking for the first 12 minutes, I sautéd the mushrooms along with chopped onion and garlic. I will be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Flattened the chicken breasts thin and then sauteed them in an olive oil/butter combination. Added more sliced mushrooms. Two cups of mozzarella cheese for two chicken breasts is ridiculous! Just eyeballed the amount that I thought would be appropriate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
For a general meal, it's 4 stars- enjoyable but not the end all be all. But for a quick, easy meal- 5 stars. I added basil & oregano to the chicken seasonings. I used a 1.5 TB which was plenty. Definitely don't cook the chicken that long unless you have massively thick chicken. I did 3 mins/side and kept checking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
excellent!!! what a great dish! I added the basil, and parsley as previously suggested, plus the wine. I also added dried, chopped onion. Oh yummy! It makes a sorta sauce that is delicious served over the chicken. I used canned mushrooms, cause I didn't have fresh and it was just great! I also added pepper, and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Quick, easy, and yummy. (We threw in a little wine for a bit of added flavor) We, too, will be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States