Mozzarella Meat Whirl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This is my absolutely my favorite meatloaf recipe. Yes I had todo my own thing , and wow was it good. Had the onions, peppers, fresh garlic and used seasoned panko crumbs, but the kicker I think was crumbled bacon scattered on top before you added the cheese. My family loves, loves this meatloaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made this last night; I did saute some onion, garlic, and red and green bell pepper to add to the meat mix. Used shredded cheese; for the topping used a little marinara mixed with the ketchup, no water. It was so good! Baked it on a cookie sheet/jelly roll type pan. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolinaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Use 1/2 the water but great taste for a basic meatloaf. It's kind of creamy to needs something to give more body and chew maybe because all the water in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Very good. Simple, flavorful, and filling. I would suggest doubling the sauce and baste every 10-15 minutes or so. The sauce is very good, it just thickens a lot while cooking. By my third slice I was all out and the little lady wanted more. I am interested in trying it with turkey to lighten it up a bit. Reminds me of a recipe that I used to make ages ago that mixed three meats and was filled with mozzarella and parsley. Might need to customize to re-create. Cheers and enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAmEm2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I used pepper jack cheese and it was very good. The only problem I had was keeping it together. It seperated when it was cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
We cooked some chopped green pepper, garlic and onion until they were just beginning to brown, then mixed that in with the meat and used shredded mozzarella instead of slices. Since a ketchup topping just tastes like (surprise!) ketchup and is better reserved for burgers, in my opinion, we used an 8oz can of tomato sauce with about a teaspoon of italian herbs for the topping. This was one great meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This recipe is AWESOME! I usually dont like meatloaf and have never been successful with it. I recommend cooking it for about 15 minutes longer than it says that way it hold better to the knife. I used shredded cheese. When it says rectangle I rolled it out to about 18 inces long and about 8 inches wide. Pinch the ends together so the cheese doesn't melt out the sides and poke holes in top. Get creative with the cheeses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueyedraven83

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was very good. I only did a couple of things different. I used shredded cheese (what I had on hand), I didnt add the water to the topping and added some horseradish and brown sugar to it (very tasty), and I poked holes in the top to give the cheese somewhere to go (its going to find a way out, so give it somewhere to go). The small amount of cheese that oozed out ended up on top of the meatloaf instead of the pan. Very nice change of pace for meatloaf. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
OK, so before I say anything else - I forgot the bread crumbs (duh!) I realized it aftr everything was rolled but, believe it or not, it still turned out great. I did as other did and added some seasoning. The sauce gave it a nice kick and, luckily, still adding the egg kept it from just tasting like a big burger. I used shredded cheese and I think that made it easier to roll. I also put the wax paper on a cookie sheet so that I could use it as a form - worked GREAT. This was easy and fun to make with my 9 year old son, and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fallfares

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I did my best to seal the ends, but the cheese leaked out through little tears in the sides. I think it will roll better if I grate it next time. My hubby does not like onions and loves cheese, so this was a meatloaf recipe he actually ate and said he wouldn't mind eating again. Although i followed suggestions to reduce the amount of water in the sauce, I just didn't care for it and will try something different next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Foote

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States