Mozzarella Basil Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I made this bread yesterday. It was very good. My husband said it was the best bread I have made yet. I used rosemary and garlic instead of basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I made one loaf by halving all ingredients, extra flour was needed while kneeling. The loaf is HUGE, while I wish I have had added a bit more cheese into it though. It is the most perfect loaf of bread I've made so far, and it's absolutely gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Very good, however I don't think the mozzarella came thru at all. I sliced this bread, spread with tomato sauce, topped with mozzarella and broiled. Delicious! Tasted like pizza bread. Also made a fantastic grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made mine Tomato Mozzarella Basil. Just Use a small can of Tomato Paste and 1 Cup and 2 oz of Water. So good! You could also just sub all the water for tomato juice.. a lil cheaper using the paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lconnick
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
horribly sticky dough unless you add at least another 2 cups of flour, but once you get by the mess, the bread is divine! I use whole leaves of basil either fresh from the garden or (when we're under 3 feet of snow) from the freezer. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by collegecook1
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was a great recipe! I changed things up a bit - I made it cheesier by adding in a half cup of cheddar cheese as well - it turned out really amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Forest City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
The ratio of 2 1/4 cups liquid to 4 cups of flour is not correct, it is more like 6 to make a nice dough. Can't wait to try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was the first bread from scratch recipe I've ever attempted and I have to say I was delighted with the results. It was pretty easy to make and tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I didn't have basil....I know crazy, but instead I used Italian seasoning (about 1 1/2tsps) and oregano (1tsp), I also put about a cup and a half of cheese instead of a cup. I baked it for about 35min, but that may be because I don't have a super hot oven. My husband loves this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This is a great recipe, but I caution that the flour to liquid ratio listed is off. I ended up using six cups of flour to mix and another half cup while I was kneeding to get to the right consistency. I put all ingedients except the mozzarella and basil into my bread machine and processed on the dough cycle. During the final mix I added the cheese and basil (fresh from the garden). I upped the cheese to almost two cups, but for some reason didn't up the total amount of basil used - I should have. I was a little leary of the baking temperature, but it was fine. I tented after about 10 minutes to keep the tops from getting too dark. This bread has a delicious flavor and I will be making again. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States