Mozzarella Basil Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Excellent. My group of girlfriends gets together about once a month at one of our houses for dinner and a movie. The hostess rents the movie and makes the main dish. The others bring a side dish, dessert or movie snack. At our recent get-together, the hostess made potato-cheese soup, and I brought a version of this bread. Wow, was it good! I wanted a particularly hearty, rustic loaf, so I made the following changes to the recipe: I wanted two large loaves, one for home, one for the party, so I increased the recipe by half. I used six cups of flour, one-third whole wheat, one-third high gluten and one-third all-purpose. I added a half cup of wheat germ, and used honey instead of sugar. So as not to kill too much yeast, I added the salt after the initial cup and a half of flour. I also used mixed fresh herbs (a combination of thyme, chives and marjoram, chopped finely), and shredded sharp cheddar instead of mozzarella. That combination of herbs and cheddar cheese really complemented the potato-cheese soup. To get a good crust, I spritzed the tops of the loaves with water before baking, and put a pan of water into the oven to produce steam. I sprinkled the tops with sea salt and freshly-ground pepper before baking. I will definitely make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I give this a 4 star for taste. I should've read more reviews first. I used about 4 1/2 cups flour, it didn't seem enough but I didn't want to overdo the flour. I seem one review that suggested up to 5 1/2 cups. I might try this again using that much flour. As is, the dough is very sticky. The outside of the bread cooked up, but the inside was still a little wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is an incrediblyeasy tasty herb bread that has satisfied even the pickiest eater in my family. It bakes up with a great golden crust yet the inside is super moist. It is great served with herbed dipping oil. I will make it again and again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oologah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
YUM! Made this recipe yesterday based on the reviews here. I find that the almost 5 star recipes are keepers. This is DELISH!! my husband and i both loved it. Today i used a piece to make brushetta with - mmmmm. It's pretty basic as well, no funky cooking techniques, just super nice bread. And no, i didn't get it from the bakery! I love that :)/// August 2011 - have made this bread a dozen plus times now - i give it to people as gifts and they think i should be on master chef LOL --- i make it into 4 mini loaves - that way you won't get fat when you eat the entire loaf. it is truly THAT good. Make sure you cook this on the very bottom of the oven so the top doesn't burn, AND add some garlic powder to the dough. enjoy, wish i had created this myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
5 stars plus. This bread turned out fanstatic. I used the bread maker and took it out after the first rise. Put it into 2 greased loaf pans and baked. The next time I made it, I used 3 c. white flour and 1 c. dark rye flour and added a tablespoon of dill weed. This bread was also fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lois Gern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Fabulous, easy, cheesy bread. This was so easy to prepare and smelled great while baking. But is tastes so good. I am glad I read reviews before making this as I cut the recipe in half, using 4 cups of flour and getting 2 decent sized loaves of bread. This was good with our lasagna, and still good the next night with our soup. Definitely making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
if i could give this recipe 100 stars i would!!i have made this bread at least 20 times and everytime it wows me..whenever i go to dinner at someone's house or have dinnerguests i bring/serve this bread and everyone is always amazed that i made this and didn't buy it at some fancy bakery!! the only thing i do differently is slice it lengthwise instead of in wedges, but this recipe is foolproof and needs no alteration..this bread also makes very good sandwiches spread with mayo and topped with sliced vine tomatoes and mozza cheese and put under the broiler!! the only negative i can say is that i need to buy bigger pants to fit my expanding waistline, as i could eat a whole loaf to myself in a day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This made an impressive, large loaf of bread with an excellent texture inside. The mozzarella made the loaf smell wonderful coming out of the oven. I made a half recipe and used almost 3 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Excellent flavor and texture, but as stated in other reviews, the amount of flour needed was much more than 4 cups - I estimate at least 5 and 1/2 cups. Still a good solid recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I read all reviews about the addtional flour. Being in a warmish and humid part of the world, I tried out half of the recipe with 3/4 cup water, 2 cups of bread flour as a start, threw in a tablespoon of minced garlic and follow the rest of the instructions. During the kneading, I added another 1/3 cup of flour to get a more workable dough. I shaped them into 2 small loafs. The bread came out wonderful and aromatic, moist and flavourful. I served them with the Cream of Mushroom Soup I from this site. My kids and hubby raved over it. I gave it 4.5 stars because the flour to water proportion is off, otherwise, it is an easy and crowd pleasing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLee3268

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States