Mozzarella Basil Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This bread is absolutely delicious! I used fresh basil (triple the amount) since I have a seemingly endless supply in the garden. I otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I did have to add in at least an extra cup of flour during kneading. The recipe makes two LARGE loaves. My husband and oldest son loved this one. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I love herbed breads, so this recipe appealed to me. The mozzarella was just icing on the cake. I followed the recipe except for using 50/50 whole wheat and all purpose, so I added in some vital gluten. I did not add the salt directly to the yeast proofing solution, as that would have diminished the action of the yeast. Like Pam, I needed to add significantly more flour to obtain a workable dough - 2 cups more, in fact. It almost became too much for my stand mixer to handle kneading. I would have cut the recipe in half had it actually called for closer to that 6 cups of flour rather than just 4. There is a big difference between '4 cups or as needed' and 6 cups. I got two very large round loaves from this recipe. I found the flavor from the basil and cheese subtle, but pleasant, and the texture was beautiful. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This makes two ENORMOUS loaves of bread...which is wonderful! Like the other reviewers, I also found the amount of flour to be way off. I used almost 6 cups. Texture and flavor are wonderful- will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Made as the recipe states. had to add an extra cup of flour while kneading however. this made the most amazing bread. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This turned out to be a beautiful bread. I did cut the recipe in half, as the reviews stated it made two loaves, and I'm glad I did because it still made one huge loaf. I'm going to use the leftovers to make sandwiches today. It was delicious, easy to make and it will be a regular in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Really enjoyed this! I used 3 tablespoons of fresh basil instead of the dried as another user did, and I also added a few cloves of minced garlic. The bread is very dense, chewy and cheesy! I had to use about 4 and 3/4 cups of flour...so not as much more than the recipe as others did. I had this with vegetable soup, they were a great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Wonderful loaf of bread! I halved the recipe and only added a few extra tablespoons of flour to get the right consistency. Reminded me a little of the bread served at Carino's Italian Restaurant--and we ate it just as quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
this made nice buns for burgers or sloppy joes. Very full flavoured. It's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Excellent! Easy to make. Gobbled this up in one meal with family. We are already making this again because the family was craving. Used fresh herb the first time, will try dry this time to see the difference. Thanks for sharing. I did half wheat/white for mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I read all reviews about the addtional flour. Being in a warmish and humid part of the world, I tried out half of the recipe with 3/4 cup water, 2 cups of bread flour as a start, threw in a tablespoon of minced garlic and follow the rest of the instructions. During the kneading, I added another 1/3 cup of flour to get a more workable dough. I shaped them into 2 small loafs. The bread came out wonderful and aromatic, moist and flavourful. I served them with the Cream of Mushroom Soup I from this site. My kids and hubby raved over it. I gave it 4.5 stars because the flour to water proportion is off, otherwise, it is an easy and crowd pleasing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLee3268

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States