Mozzarella Basil Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I didn't have basil....I know crazy, but instead I used Italian seasoning (about 1 1/2tsps) and oregano (1tsp), I also put about a cup and a half of cheese instead of a cup. I baked it for about 35min, but that may be because I don't have a super hot oven. My husband loves this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This is a great recipe, but I caution that the flour to liquid ratio listed is off. I ended up using six cups of flour to mix and another half cup while I was kneeding to get to the right consistency. I put all ingedients except the mozzarella and basil into my bread machine and processed on the dough cycle. During the final mix I added the cheese and basil (fresh from the garden). I upped the cheese to almost two cups, but for some reason didn't up the total amount of basil used - I should have. I was a little leary of the baking temperature, but it was fine. I tented after about 10 minutes to keep the tops from getting too dark. This bread has a delicious flavor and I will be making again. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is really ,really GOOD bread! It smells so good baking!! It would be a great accompaniment for anything Italian, or a good soup too. We are loving this bread, I hope I have some left to serve with dinner, luckily this recipe makes 2 large loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Used asiago cheese instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boquete, Chiriquí, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Easy to make. I halved the recipe because I didn't want too much left over. Next time, I would add some garlic powder to intensify the flavour, and maybe brush the top with butter when I take it out of the oven. It was a lovely loaf, though, and went really well with our tortellini soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
The portions of this recipe are WAY off (but it is still awesome)! I had to use *6* cups of flour! But that's an easy fix. That said this is a very tasty bread, the cheese and milk give the dough a moist and creamy flavor. I added a little extra basil, just because I had so much left over that I froze from my garden. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Delicious! Easy to make too, especially if you have a KitchenAid mixer with the kneading accessory. My yeast didn't do as well as I like, but that was my fault, NOT the recipe! If you like flavorful bread, try it. I am sure you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I baked this bread last night and didn't have any basil so I used Italian Seasoning instead and it turned out great. Made 2 loaves and we ate one loaf as soon as it came out of the oven. I think next time i make it I'm going to add more cheese and try out different spices. Would make a great garlic bread for spagetti. Definitly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chikalin
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
wonderful bread, it's dense- but in a good way. i added some garlic and served it with chicken parm. we dipped the bread in extra tomato sauce and it was great! the loaves the directions tell you to make are very large, so i ended up making 7 smaller ones, and they were still big - a good size to share with someone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States