Mozzarella Basil Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is really ,really GOOD bread! It smells so good baking!! It would be a great accompaniment for anything Italian, or a good soup too. We are loving this bread, I hope I have some left to serve with dinner, luckily this recipe makes 2 large loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Used asiago cheese instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boquete, Chiriquí, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Easy to make. I halved the recipe because I didn't want too much left over. Next time, I would add some garlic powder to intensify the flavour, and maybe brush the top with butter when I take it out of the oven. It was a lovely loaf, though, and went really well with our tortellini soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
The portions of this recipe are WAY off (but it is still awesome)! I had to use *6* cups of flour! But that's an easy fix. That said this is a very tasty bread, the cheese and milk give the dough a moist and creamy flavor. I added a little extra basil, just because I had so much left over that I froze from my garden. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Delicious! Easy to make too, especially if you have a KitchenAid mixer with the kneading accessory. My yeast didn't do as well as I like, but that was my fault, NOT the recipe! If you like flavorful bread, try it. I am sure you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I baked this bread last night and didn't have any basil so I used Italian Seasoning instead and it turned out great. Made 2 loaves and we ate one loaf as soon as it came out of the oven. I think next time i make it I'm going to add more cheese and try out different spices. Would make a great garlic bread for spagetti. Definitly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chikalin
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
wonderful bread, it's dense- but in a good way. i added some garlic and served it with chicken parm. we dipped the bread in extra tomato sauce and it was great! the loaves the directions tell you to make are very large, so i ended up making 7 smaller ones, and they were still big - a good size to share with someone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Excellent. My group of girlfriends gets together about once a month at one of our houses for dinner and a movie. The hostess rents the movie and makes the main dish. The others bring a side dish, dessert or movie snack. At our recent get-together, the hostess made potato-cheese soup, and I brought a version of this bread. Wow, was it good! I wanted a particularly hearty, rustic loaf, so I made the following changes to the recipe: I wanted two large loaves, one for home, one for the party, so I increased the recipe by half. I used six cups of flour, one-third whole wheat, one-third high gluten and one-third all-purpose. I added a half cup of wheat germ, and used honey instead of sugar. So as not to kill too much yeast, I added the salt after the initial cup and a half of flour. I also used mixed fresh herbs (a combination of thyme, chives and marjoram, chopped finely), and shredded sharp cheddar instead of mozzarella. That combination of herbs and cheddar cheese really complemented the potato-cheese soup. To get a good crust, I spritzed the tops of the loaves with water before baking, and put a pan of water into the oven to produce steam. I sprinkled the tops with sea salt and freshly-ground pepper before baking. I will definitely make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I give this a 4 star for taste. I should've read more reviews first. I used about 4 1/2 cups flour, it didn't seem enough but I didn't want to overdo the flour. I seem one review that suggested up to 5 1/2 cups. I might try this again using that much flour. As is, the dough is very sticky. The outside of the bread cooked up, but the inside was still a little wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States