Movie Star Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Very good and easy. I think next time I'll use coconut oil, though, because it has a milder flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This is great recipe using coconut oil. Kadwell should do some research on coconut oil and will find out just how healthy it is :) To make this even more healthful use sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Ymmmmmie old fashioned popcorn. I use ready packaged for stovetop or radiant heater type of popcorn cooker rather than microwave from Harlanfairbanks. They use coconut oil and seasoned popcorn salt, as as much or as little of the oil/ salt as you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Who woulda thunk it? LOL Using half butter and half coconut oil was amazing. And like another reviewer mentioned... coconut oil is no longer considered unhealthy and is in fact the healthiest of oils (do use organic). I used the 3-kernel system and when they popped I added the balance. It really does work well to have the fat properly heated. We topped ours with a good sprinkle of caramel pecan topping from Fireworks Popcorn in Wisconsin. They have amazing toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janisko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Homemade popcorn is SO much better than microwave!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
You can also use virgin Coconut oil---it gives the popcorn an outstanding flavor without adding alot of salt or other seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Almost perfect recipe. But use coconut oil instead and will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whipnet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I agree with the reviewer who questions why anyone would eat microwave popcorn when it is so easy to make great, much healthier stove-top popcorn. All one has to do is read the ingredients on the microwave junk to know that it cannot be good for you. This recipe was wonderful. I have tried it twice so far; I like to add different flavors. Once I did it with chili powder and it was delicious. Another time we used parmesan cheese. You can do a lot with flavoring. And I definitely like using a little real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I highly recommend using coconut oil for several reasons. 1) You can get away with using only 2 TBSP oil to 1/2cup of popcorn, 2)it has a much higher smoke point than vegetable oil, 3)it makes wonderful tasting popcorn. 4)its being "unhealthy" is a myth. Just Google it and draw your own conclusions. I gave the recipe only 4 stars because 3 TBSP of oil is 50% more oil than you really need for 1/2 cup of popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Sheppard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Right. Will be selling the air popper on ebay post haste. How yummy was THAT? I won't make popcorn any other way from now on. This is really the safest, healthiest way and super easy. I followed the advice of a reviewer who said she added four tablespoons of butter and only one tablespoon of oil (I used canola). I really like buttery popcorn but I think I'll cut the butter back next time to three tablespoons because it was really rich/buttery with four tablespoons. I used "I Can't Believe it's not butter" stick butter straight from the fridge. I have an induction cooktop so I didn't really do the shaking thing as induction requires direct magnetic reaction to the bottom of your pot in order to heat well/evenly. It came out great. One tip: I sprayed the bottom and sides of the pan with cooking spray and nothing stuck. Yeeeeee-haw!! Fresh, safe popcorn. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States