Movie Star Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I never caught on to the microwave popcorn craze. I have my heavy-duty popcorn pan that I have used well over 40 years now. I use olive oil to pop in and a little real butter to top with. The flavor is great and healthier than most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is pretty much the same way I make mine, but I no longer waste my taste buds on yellow popping corn. ALWAYS use white- you will *never go back! White kernels make the popcorn much fluffier and the hull is much smaller and thus not as hard. This is also safer if you are going to feed it to toddlers- less of a choking hazard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xhenifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanna City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Great! Olive oil works well too and you don't really need the butter IF you use a high quality extra virgin olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE popcorn!!! I make mine this way every single night in my WhirlyPop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
My family loves this recipe---no more microwave popcorn! Due to nut allergies we use canola oil instead of peanut. Also, we've used a variety of salt (garlic, onion, seasoning). Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Basehor, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
You can make this with any size pot. Add enough oil to barely coat the pan, pour in enough popcorn to cover the bottom of the pan 1 kernel deep, add your butter and salt to your taste, and pop. Works in a soup kettle for a crowd, or a small saucepan for one person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Just like mom used to make when we were little! So much healthier and I may even try scaling the oil back to 2 TBLS. next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Good, but nothing special in our book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I've been making popcorn the old fashioned way for years. The only thing I would add is be sure you use WHITE popcorn kernals. It really tastes better then the yellow corn for some reason. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I didn't know making homemade popcorn could be so easy! Now that I have made it, I am never going to buy microwave popcorn again! I think everyone should make their popcorn homemade. It tastes a lot better : ) Note: I did make a slight change. I didn't have peanut oil so I used canola oil. The popcorn tasted fantastic! My friend loved it and took half the batch home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States