Movie Star Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is the way my mom always made popcorn..even when the microwave popcorn came out. Orville Redenbacher's popped the lid off of our pot! I usually use an air popper for movie night. Thanks for the recipe..I LOVE popcorn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
all is perfect but do agree with the sugestion of coconut oil it does pop best but can be a bit expensive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, New York, USA
Living In: Irondequoit, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is how popcorn was made before microwaves, air poppers, and the old fashioned popper you plugged in and put butter in the top. I also remember having a special pan just for popcorn cooking. That was the best. Thanks for the memory and the snack for tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I never caught on to the microwave popcorn craze. I have my heavy-duty popcorn pan that I have used well over 40 years now. I use olive oil to pop in and a little real butter to top with. The flavor is great and healthier than most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is pretty much the same way I make mine, but I no longer waste my taste buds on yellow popping corn. ALWAYS use white- you will *never go back! White kernels make the popcorn much fluffier and the hull is much smaller and thus not as hard. This is also safer if you are going to feed it to toddlers- less of a choking hazard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xhenifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanna City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Great! Olive oil works well too and you don't really need the butter IF you use a high quality extra virgin olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE popcorn!!! I make mine this way every single night in my WhirlyPop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Smallwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
My family loves this recipe---no more microwave popcorn! Due to nut allergies we use canola oil instead of peanut. Also, we've used a variety of salt (garlic, onion, seasoning). Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
You can make this with any size pot. Add enough oil to barely coat the pan, pour in enough popcorn to cover the bottom of the pan 1 kernel deep, add your butter and salt to your taste, and pop. Works in a soup kettle for a crowd, or a small saucepan for one person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Just like mom used to make when we were little! So much healthier and I may even try scaling the oil back to 2 TBLS. next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States