Movie Star Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Nostalgic? yes. Better than microwave? Debatable. This did taste similar to the oil popped version of my childhood, but if opting for a non-microwaved version for health reasons, I suggest air popped. This tasted heavy and oily to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
My dad, who has been gone for a number of years, use to make this almost every night. I lived at home for 18 years, and never once asked him how he did it. Thank you for the memories. What a treat to find this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I use a mixture of peanut and coconut oil. Gives it a nice sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Medium high heat is too high, the butter burned. Will stick to the old fashioned tried and true way to pop corn, this was a hot mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
It is good, but I like to use olive oil even better than the vegetable oil. I use this while we were camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I make popcorn with olive oil and add butter. Adding butter to the pot before popping is an interesting alternative. Olive oil is healthy and imparts a great buttery flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
the best, altho I like using olive oil instead, gives it an exciting flavor, butter too and salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCRENFRO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I don't know why anyone would use vegetable oil, or shortening. We use coconut oil here. OTH This is a pretty cool recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I love popcorn this way, I don't even do micro popcorn anymore. I even sneak it into the movie theater. This is just right for my new healthy lifestyle. Sometimes I just use spray butter for flavor. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Ican't stand microwave popcorn. I've used a whirly pop popper for years. It's great! Another variation that I make often is to add about 1/2 cup of sugar to the oil just before adding the corn. Makes a sweet carmel corn-like taste. I then add salt to it after pouring the popped corn into a bowl. I love sweer and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States