Moutabel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was a fantastic recipe. I also halfed the recipe but it was a big hit with homemade pita chips prior to Christmas dinner. The kids were shocked that egg plant was the primary ingredient. I also added a few drops of liquid smoke to give it that cooked on the grill taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Very good. I only made a half batch and had plenty for an appetizer tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Wonderful way to use eggplant. Very flavorful. My husband doesn't care for it so there was plenty for me. Will probably eat as a dip for sliced cukes and zucchini. Great for a low-fat lunch or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Followed several reviews and this was a HIT! Not too much tahini, it still tastes like an eggplant dip. Charred eggplants and peeled. Increased basil (1/4 packed cup for 2 eggplants) and garlic (3 cloves for 2 eggplants. Didn't seed the peppers. Sprinkled a little cayenne on top at end for color and zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I live in southern New Meixco and right now, the harvest of eggplants, green chile, garlic, basil and onions are pouring in faster than we can keep up. This recipe was a GREAT way to take advantage of the local ingredients. Thank you so much for sharing! I did make several minor changes: I punctured the eggplants with a toothpick all over, then blackened them on the grill (it was 4th of July!) all over. Plunging them into a bowl of ice water made the black skins slip off easily. I also did this with 2 green chiles and added them in addition to the 2 fresh green chiles the recipe calls for. I doubled the garlic and increased the basil by about 50%. Lastly, I used lime juice instead of lemon, as that is what is local around here. The end result was a smoky, garlicky spread, remeniscent of baba ganoush (but better!) that we spread on tortillas and filled with other roasted local veggies from the harvest. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make. I quartered it, using only one eggplant, and since I did (but my family did NOT) want it to be spicy I eased up on the hot peppers and instead added black pepper, turmeric, and cumin. I also added sweet red peppers to make up for blandness. The dip turned out well but until I can make & serve it properly (i.e. with full eye-watering heat) I do not think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I made half of this recipe, and I really wouldn't have wanted any more than that. My batch was dominated by tahini as I added a little more to make it thicker. Don't take out the seeds of the pepper, otherwise you won't be able to taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Mine turned out bitter. I added a touch of cumin and sugar to try to fix it, but to no avail. I don't know what I can do with it now. At least it didn't take long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I used a very mild pepper when making this the first time and it was bland. When we add Tabasco Sause it added a kick to it. Now I use hot peppers. This is a great low-fat side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Loved this recipe Kevin! I'm an eggplant fan, so I'm always looking for new ways to serve it. Perfect as is and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States