Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Ever since I tried the moussaka that they make at restaurants I have been wanting to make my own moussaka. I made some for my family and I and everybody loved it. I especially liked how I learned more about cooking and some special terms. Overall, making moussaka was a wonderful experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Wonderful recipe. Spiced well and tasted delicious. The only change I made was roasting the eggplant in the oven after brushing it with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Thank you for this recipe for a dish that was really popular in the 1960s and needs to be revived. I had continued to make it, but modernized it by microwaving the egg plant (5 minutes). I use fresh tomatoes when possible - two are enough. I have always topped the dish with a cup of Greek yoghurt rather than bechamel. I add a couple of eggs to the yoghurt, and it is probably good to whip the eggwhites though I never used to. I do not use any cheese - it is not necessary. I always use ground lamb for a more authentic flavor. You can also use left-over lamb roast if you chop it fairly small - it's a delicious option for leftovers! This dish can be very healthy and low fat (just omit the egg yolks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Absolutely fantastic! My whole family loved it. I changed only 2 things: I used vegetarian ground round instead of beef and I didn't use any butter to brown it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
lovely recipe. I think the authentic recipe calls for ground lamb and that is what I used....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was my first time cooking Greek food. I followed some other suggestions and added some whipped egg whites to the sauce. Please note that this took much longer than 45 minutes to prepare. I was fortunate to have help and it still took almost an hour and a half. The dish turned out fantastic but I doubt I will make again just because of the complexity. Obviously that is not a fault of the recipe just the nature of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
It took me a lot longer to make than 1&1/2 hours. The recipe does not allow for the sauce to cool before you add egg to it. I made the version with eggs added to the two sauces
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I made this; I started the day before because I know how long it takes to make (time consuming recipes stress me out); I have not been in Greece but I'm from the Balkan region and have not seen this recipe made with the béchamel sauce. I also have used ground pork because I get sick smelling the ground beef cooking. Much less fat if you get your hands on some lean pork. Anyway, I also use potato (2) and ended up using 2 eggplants not three. The potatoes give the dish a "comfort food" taste and feel. Make sure you salt this dish properly because the meat and eggplants absorb a lot of it. Still I didn't use cinn/nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This recipe didn't taste like what I had tried in Greece, the eggplant made the dish taste soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
It was rediculously yummy. My dad makes this same recipe so I knew it was good. The only things I changed were instead of nutmeg I just added extra cinnamon, but that's my preference. The other thing is that I added some crumbled feta underneath the bechamel sauce and it added that extra greek touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States