Moussaka Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
My family liked this one but because I wasn't up on how to handle eggplant ie:salt and drain it first. It was more liquidy than it should have been. Needed a little more instruction for the novice, good flavor tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was absolutely wonderful. I used fresh mashed potatoes (about 7 medium) and fresh diced tomatoes (5 medium) and left out the raisins. Needed a fair bit of salt, and put in some Montreal chicken spice as well - phenom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
WE loved this. My husband thought he liked it even better than regular Moussaka. I only deviated from the recipe because he had bought "italian seasoned ground turkey" instead of regular. It was just right. I used the steam in bag mashed potatoes (12 oz) and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe! I love comfort foods; and since I cannot have dairy, this was a great one. I used 1/2 pound of beef (it's all that I had) and an entire eggplant which covered a 9x13 pan fine. I used instant potatoes and added some butter to the potatoes when finished. The recipe says 1 hour 25 minutes til ready; but mine was ready much quicker. I'd say all in all 50 minutes from prep to eating. You could even do the meat base (minus the eggplant and mashed potatoes) in the AM or crock-pot and put it together at dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I used left over turkey meat rather than ground turkey. At the last minute, I couldn't find where I put the raisins, so I left them out. I also couldn't resist adding cheese on top of the potato. The family devoured this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Simple, tasty, and mild. I added fresh mozzarella between layers (moussaka is the Greek's equivalent of lasagna) and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Kilmon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Church Creek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boiceville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This is such a great one dish recipe! My husband is raving and even my 18 month old daughter ate it! We used Italian seasoned ground turkey and followed the recipe. I also made garlic mashed potatoes instead of regular. I did forget to add teh egg to the potatoes, but we didn't miss it. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I've never had regular moussaka so not sure how it was supposed to taste. To me, not a sophisticated palate, it tasted alittle bland and greasy. I used ground beef and ground venison (cause that's what I had on hand). In the future, I'd brown the meat first, drain off the grease and then add to the onions/garlic as the recipe called for. I added just a touch of hot sauce to give this alittle kick. I served it over Chinese Cabbage, very hot, to wilt the cabbage and that is what made it good. The cinnamon, clove and raisins make for an interesting flavor. None of which overwhelmed the dish. I liked it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
For diebetics, mention that raisins should not be included in this recipe. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Had an eggplant on hand and some ground beef, found this recipe (LOVE the "ingredients search" on this site!!) and threw it together. Very tasty and will definitely make it again. Made a few minor changes to make it easier: 1) A little less olive oil to fry the onions and garlic. 2) Add and brown the ground beef, but hold off on adding the spices and tomatoes. 3) DRAIN the ground beef to get the fat and extra oil out. 4) In a separate bowl, stir in the spices (also add one teaspoon of cumin, as per a reviewer's suggestion) into the crushed tomatoes and, once the ground beef is drained, add it. I did sprinkle a tiny bit of Greek Seasoning, along with sea salt and pepper, on the oiled eggplant before broiling on each side. It all came together beautifully, but the leftovers the next day were even better! Keeping this recipe, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUILTQUEEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States