Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This recipe is to die for. However, I gave it 4 stars because I had to adjust it a bit to make it work. The other reviewers are right, the cheese to noodle ratio is way off. The mouse likes her cheese a little too much! The macaroni has to be doubled to 3 cups, and I found it does best in a roomy 2 or 2.5 quart casserole dish. Since I'm not a huge fan of so much velveeta and processed cheeses, I went out in search of the perfect blend and found Kraft's "Classic Melts" shredded cheese blend. It's a combo of American cheese, sharp cheddar, white cheddar, and monterey jack. I got two of the 8 oz. bags. I am pregnant, and this is my all-time #1 craving. Better than the Cracker Barrel's Mac & Cheese. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
666 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Excellent! And I agree with "bakechef" -don't use more macaroni! This is perfect just as is, as the pasta will absorb the "soupiness" either as it sets or as it bakes. Unless you want a gelatinous wad of pasty macaroni, "don't use more macaroni." This is classic macaroni and cheese just as it should be - creamy and cheesey and just plain comfort food good, with no sharp cheeses or extra, distracting spices or seasonings. I prepared this exactly as written, right down to the seasoned bread crumbs - for that I just crushed some herb crostini toasts. I can't see a mac and cheese recipe that could possibly be any better than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
460 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This is great, whatever you do DON'T USE MORE MACARONI if you want the creamiest macaroni and cheese ever. The first time that I made it I thought that there was too little macaroni, but after it baked, it was absolutely perfect. I have also made this using 1/2 sharp cheddar and 1/2 american cheese and it was wonderful as well. I would suggest if making changes to still use 1/2 processed cheese like velveeta or american, as it lends to the creaminess of the sauce since it melts so well and doesn't separate like real cheeses such as cheddar, but I love using 1/2 sharp cheddar for flavor. This is my now standard recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I followed recipe exactly. I hate when people change the recipe then rate it unfavorly. But I followed the recipe exactly. It tasted just OK. I won't make again. It tasted fine right out of the oven. But an hour later when I needed to serve it (it was still very warm) the cheese became lumpy instead of the creamy consistancy it had right out of the oven. So eat right out of oven or don't eat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This is a very nice, basic mac and cheese recipe. The mac and cheese is perfect prior to baking in the oven. Baking dries out the sauce as it is absorbed in the macaroni. Add 1/4 to 1/2 cup cream or milk (skim is ok) to make sure the consistency is very creamy and liquid prior to placing in the oven to bake. The bread crumbs are not necessary; a sprinkling of paprika for color does just fine. I also grate a little onion for flavor, use white pepper (and this recipe is rather bland without it) and use a variety of cheeses such as a good quality cheddar (love Hoffman's extra sharp - ultra smooth, yet ultra tasty), asiago, american, a bit of parmesan. Whatever your particular palate grooves to. If you love an ultra creamy, cheesy mac and cheese, skip the baking and dig in!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
i've been looking for a good homemade mac and cheese recipe and this works great! although i modified this recipe right away by using 2 cups of cheddar cheese bec no one in the house likes processed cheese. i also used 2 cups of macaroni. also, instead of 1/4 cup of bread crumbs, i used 1/8 c. of bread crumbs and 1/8 c. fresh grated parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is one of the best mac and cheese recipes, and I've tried a bunch of them. I've made this several times while adjusting the recipe and I have one word of warning...don't increase the mustard! And I haven't been able to get it really creamy without the velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I used only velveeta, but doubled it to match the recipe and this was FANTASTIC. I even scaled it larger for leftovers, added a little butter and it reheated great. My husband said it was the best he had ever tasted and my 3 year old had 2 helpings! Thanks, this one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
My husband loved this. It wasn't the absolute BEST macaroni and cheese that I've ever had, but I'll definitely hang on to the recipe. When you first mix the noodles with the sauce it looks like it's going to be way too saucy, but once you bake it, it's perfect. I couldn't find a block of American cheese at the grocery store so I used a bag of shredded four-cheese blend (which included American cheese). I also used 1/8 cup bread crumbs instead of 1/4 cup and it was more than enough. We're looking forward to leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
I love this recipe! It is so easy and everyone raves about it when I take it to potlucks. I use penne pasta and add sage to my bread crumbs for more of a "gourmet" look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 773) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States